Skip to main content

Governor reappoints members of Utility Consumer Participation Board

Thursday, May 2, 2013

LANSING, Mich. ‒ Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the reappointments of all five members of the state Utility Consumer Participation Board.

"I thank the members for their fine work and continued service," said Snyder.


The board provides grants to qualified applicants representing Michigan's residential energy utility customers before proceedings of the Michigan Public Service Commission. Funding is generated through annual assessment of DTE Energy and Consumers Energy.


Reappointed to terms ending Jan. 13, 2015 are:


James MacInnes, of Beulah, who serves as board chair, is CEO of Crystal Mountain Resort and Spa. He holds a bachelor's degree in electrical engineering and a master's degree in business administration, both from the University of California at Irvine.


Paul Isely, of Grand Rapids, is a professor and chair of the economics department at Grand Valley State University. He has a bachelor's degree in economics and physics from the University of Wisconsin and a master's degree and Ph.D. in economics from Purdue University.


Ryan Dinkgrave, of Royal Oak, is manager of government affairs and grant writing for Focus: HOPE, a nonprofit charitable organization. He has bachelor's degrees in communications, and telecommunications, information studies and media and a master's degree in public relations, all from Michigan State University.


Conan Smith, of Ann Arbor, is executive director of the Michigan Suburbs Alliance, and serves as a Washtenaw County commissioner. He has a bachelor's degree in creative writing and literature from the University of Michigan and is pursuing a master's degree in dispute resolution from Wayne State University.


Susan Haroutunian, of Detroit, is of counsel to the Haroutunian Licata Haroutunian law firm. She previously worked nearly 30 years as a self-employed attorney. Haroutunian has a bachelor's degree and a law degree, both from Wayne State University.


Members are appointed by the governor for two-year terms and are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.