Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments, reappointments to Truck Safety Commission

Wednesday, Sept. 11, 2013

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced two appointments and five reappointments to the Michigan Truck Safety Commission.

The 11-member commission develops and administers programs addressing commercial truck driver education.

“This is a qualified and talented group and I am confident they it continue to ensure that Michigan’s roads remain safe for all drivers,” Snyder said.

Sharon Conklin, of Comstock Park, is safety director for Van’s Delivery Service Inc. She has more than 40 years in the transportation industry and has worked for Modular Transportation Inc., Amazon Transportation, Ryder Dedicated Logistics and Transamerican Freight Lines. Conklin is a member and past president of the Grand Rapids Transportation Club and the West Michigan Safety Council. She studied accounting at Henry Ford Community College. Conklin will represent private motor carriers and replaces Ken Houck.

Timothy Yungfer, of Bath, retired from the Michigan State Police after serving nearly 40 years at several posts around the state, including the Motor Carrier Division, the Human Resources Division, the Executive Division and the Office of the Director. He is a former member of the Michigan Association of Chiefs of Police and the International Association of Chiefs of Police. Yungfer holds a bachelor’s degree in English from Alma College. He will represent the general public and fills a vacancy.

Robert Ramels, of Iron Mountain, who is retired, spent 14 years with the Michigan Center for Truck Safety, where he served as a safety specialist and regional manager. He established a Michigan Center for Truck Safety office in the Upper Peninsula and was a trooper with the Michigan State Police from 1968-1993. Ramels holds several certifications in the truck safety industry. He is reappointed to represent the general public.

Walter Heinritzi, of Lansing, is the executive director of the Michigan Trucking Association, a position he has held since 1986. He established the Michigan Center for Truck Safety, the nation’s only nonprofit corporation that provides truck safety training. Previously, he worked for the Michigan Senate Fiscal Agency and the Institute for Tax Administration. He holds a bachelor’s degree in political science from Michigan State University, a master’s of public administration from the University of Southern California, and a degree from the Thomas M. Cooley Law School. He is reappointed to represent the Michigan Trucking Association.

Daniel Blower, of Ypsilanti, is an associate research scientist with the University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute. He has been with the University of Michigan for nearly 30 years working in varying research capacities. Blower is a member of the Society of Automotive Engineers, the Association for the Advancement of Automotive Medicine and the International Traffic Medicine Association. He earned a bachelor’s degree and a doctorate in history from the University of Michigan. Blower is reappointed to represent four-year colleges.

Dave Goller, of Rockford, is the business representative for General Teamsters Local Union No. 406. He has been with the Teamsters since 2007. Previously, Goller worked for USF Holland Motor Express and the B&B Beer Distribution Co. He attended the C.D.L Training School and Lansing Community College. Goller is reappointed to represent organized labor.

Thomas O’Brien, of Fremont, previously served as director of the Lakeshore Business and Industrial Service at Muskegon Community College and was a teacher in the Fremont Public Schools. He also taught a Commercial Driver's License training class at Muskegon Community College. O'Brien earned both a bachelor's degree in industrial education and a master's degree in industrial education and industrial management from Central Michigan University. He is reappointed to represent community colleges.

Members serve two-year terms expiring Aug. 4, 2015, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.