Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments, reappointment to Community Corrections Board

Friday, Oct. 4, 2013

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Judge Martha Anderson, of Troy; Judge Beth Gibson, of Newberry; and the reappointment of Debra Walling, of Dearborn, to the Michigan Community Corrections Board.

The 13-member board advises the director of the Michigan Department of Corrections and is charged with approving many components of community corrections programs.

“This is a talented group of appointees and I look forward to the contributions they will make to the board,” Snyder said.

Anderson was elected to the Oakland County Circuit Court in 2002. She was a Friend of the Court referee in the county for 23 years and has lectured nationally and internationally on family law issues. She also has many civic and professional affiliations. Anderson holds a bachelor’s degree from Wayne State University and a degree from the University of Detroit Law School. Anderson replaces Judge Alfred Butzbaugh and will represent circuit court judges.

Gibson is chief judge of the 92nd District Court. She has been involved in the Luce County Community Corrections program since 1995, first as an advisory board member and later as a county commissioner. Gibson holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan and a degree from the Thomas M. Cooley Law School. Gibson replaces Judge Brigette Officer and will represent district court judges.

Walling is corporation counsel for the city of Dearborn, a position she has held since 1993. In 2012, Walling was awarded the Distinguished Municipal Attorney Award by the Michigan Association of Municipal Attorneys. In 2005, she was the first woman to be elected president of the Michigan Association of Municipal Attorneys. She also serves on the Judicial Candidate Evaluation Committee of the Detroit Bar Association. Walling holds a bachelor’s degree and a law degree from Ohio Northern University. She will continue to represent members of city government.

Members serve four-year terms expiring March 31, 2017, and the appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.