Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments, reappointments to Michigan Film Office Advisory Council

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments John Loeks, of Grand Rapids; Sanford Nelson, of Farmington Hills, and Terry Terry, of East Lansing. The governor also reappointed Hopwood DePree, of Holland, and Brian Winn, of Okemos, to the Michigan Film Office Advisory Council.

The 14-member board advises the Michigan Film Office, assists in attracting productions to the state and promotes community participation in the industry.

“These are experienced and professional appointees and I thank them for serving on this council,” Snyder said.

Loeks is the president of Celebration Cinema. He previously served as COO and vice president of strategic development for Loeks Theatres, Inc. He is a board member of Camp Henry and the Economic Club of Grand Rapids, and serves as the vice president of the board for NATO of Michigan. Loeks holds a bachelor’s degree in business from Calvin College, and a master’s degree in finance and a master’s of business administration, both from the University of Denver. He will replace Cory Jacobson and represents Michigan-based theater owners.

Nelson is the director of marketing and events services for Michigan Motion Picture Studios. He holds a bachelor’s degree in general studies from the University of Michigan. Nelson is the nominee of the Senate Majority Leader.

Terry is the founder, president and CEO of MessageMakers. He previously served as a special consultant in communications for MGTV, a cameraperson/segment producer for programs such as Nightline, NBC Sportsworld, CNN, and PBS, and an instructor for the Michigan State University College of Education. He is an award-winning producer of videos and a catalyst for community development, helping to co-found the Michigan Institute for Contemporary Art. Terry holds a bachelor’s degree in political science and a master’s degree in instructional development and technology, both from Michigan State University. He will replace Sue Marx and represents broad areas of film and motion picture making, production of television programs and commercials, and related industries in Michigan.

DePree is the founder and CEO of Michigan-based TicTock Studios and a producer, advisor and financier of film, television and media projects. He is the producer and co-founder of the 501(c)3 Waterfront Film Festival in West Michigan. DePree has been recognized for his work in the industry by CNN, Wall Street Journal, Variety, New York Times and Los Angeles Times. DePree holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Southern California. He continues to represent broad areas of film and motion picture making, production of television programs and commercials, and related industries in Michigan.

Winn is an associate professor in the Department of Telecommunication, Information Studies, and Media at Michigan State University and director of the Games for Entertainment and Learning Lab. He designs, creates, and researches interactive media design, including game design, digital game-based learning and interactive health communication. He is a co-founder and director of the undergraduate Game Design and Development Specialization at Michigan State University. Winn holds a bachelor’s degree in computer science from the University of Minnesota and a master’s degree in computer science and engineering from Michigan State University. He represents residents of the state.

With the exception of Nelson, members will serve four-year terms expiring Sept. 30, 2017. Nelson will serve the remainder of a four-year term expiring Sept. 30, 2016. Appointments to the council are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.