Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments to Board of Acupuncture

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Beth Converse, of West Bloomfield, Brenda Donaldson, of Farmington Hills, and Susan Fabrick, of Fruitport, to the Michigan Board of Acupuncture.

Housed within the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, the 13-member board oversees the licensure and practice of acupuncture.

“These appointees bring a diverse set of skills to the board and I thank them for their service,” Snyder said.

Converse is the owner/acupuncturist of BKohnConverse LLC, where she provides all clinical acupuncture care and manages daily operations of the practice. She previously served as a staff acupuncturist at the Henry Ford Center for Integrative Medicine. Converse holds a bachelor’s degree from the University of Maryland and a master’s in Oriental Medicine from the Pacific College of Oriental Medicine. She will represent acupuncturists and fill the vacancy created by the resignation of Echo Kim Pinto.

Donaldson is the corporate director, medical acupuncture, integrated medicine, at William Beaumont Hospital. She also serves in the department of emergency medicine and department of integrative medicine. Donaldson holds both a bachelor’s degree and a medical doctorate from the University of Missouri-Kansas City. Donaldson will represent physicians licensed under part 170 or 175 and replace H. Jay Abel-Horowitz.

Fabrick is a family physician with Muskegon Family Care. She has a broad knowledge of general medicine from more than 19 years of family practice and an interest in complementary and alternative medicine. She previously served as a family practitioner in the Hackley Primary Care Network and is currently on Muskegon Family Care’s Diabetes Care Coordination Committee. Fabrick holds a bachelor’s in sociology and anthropology from Oberlin College and a medical doctorate from the University of Michigan Medical School. She will represent physicians licensed under part 170 or 175 and replace Leonard Wright.

Members serve four-year terms expiring June 30, 2017, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.