Skip to main content

Northern Michigan, U.P. communities impacted by deep freeze eligible for $7.5 million in aid

 Gov. Snyder says state moving quickly to make funds available 

Thursday, Sept. 11, 2014

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today said the state is moving swiftly to inform 32 communities in northern Michigan and the Upper Peninsula of their eligibility for assistance in repairing critical infrastructure damaged during last winter’s deep freeze. The communities, which applied last month for federal Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program support, are being advised of potential funding for their projects.

“Many of our northern communities on both sides of the bridge were hit hard by the deep freeze and need help,” Snyder said. “The damage to critical water and sewer mains poses serious threats as the coming winter approaches. Our priority is to get these funds into eligible communities to allow them to begin repairs or reimburse them for work already underway.”

In July, Snyder announced an initial $6 million in assistance for Upper and Lower Peninsula counties that had declared a local emergency declaration or received a governor’s emergency declaration after sustaining heavy infrastructure damage due to extremely cold temperatures and deep frost levels last winter.

The Deep Freeze program, administered by the Michigan Economic Development Corp., (MEDC), has sent letters and emails to applicant communities to provide them an update on the status of their applications. When the process is completed and all required information is submitted, MEDC will seek any necessary additional funding through the Michigan Strategic Fund to total this $7.5 million in eligible projects.

Thirty-two communities in 12 counties – Alger, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Delta, Emmet, Gogebic, Houghton, Iron, Luce, Mackinac and Marquette – are eligible to receive the CDBG funds to repair damaged water and sewer mains, roads and other vital infrastructure.

Each community will be required to provide written certification that the funds it receives will address damage that occurred to public infrastructure resulted directly from the extreme weather conditions between Nov. 1, 2013, and June 1, 2014. The communities must respond to this commitment letter by Tuesday, Sept. 16 at 5 p.m. Two weeks later, on Sept. 30, communities that continue in the program must submit documentation to complete the application process and CDBG compliance items.

In addition to the Deep Freeze CDBG, Snyder has opened an application period for the Disaster and Emergency Contingency Fund through the Michigan State Police, Emergency Management and Homeland Security Division (MSP/EMHSD) to potentially provide financial assistance to northern Michigan and U.P. communities impacted by last winter’s deep freeze. Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Delta, Emmet, Gogebic, Luce, Mackinac and Marquette counties and their respective communities are eligible to apply due to receiving a governor’s emergency declaration.

Eligible counties and communities affected by the deep freeze may apply for assistance grants for up to $100,000 or 10 percent of the previous year’s operating budget, whichever is less.

The Disaster and Emergency Contingency Fund is used when communities demonstrate an exhaustion of local resources during a disaster or emergency. The money can be applied toward the immediate prevention, response and recovery of a disaster or emergency and may cover overtime for public employees, contracts used during the response, shelter supplies, gasoline used during the response and repair of public buildings and infrastructure.

Under extraordinary circumstances, the governor may authorize reimbursement from the Disaster and Emergency Contingency Fund to provide state assistance to counties and municipalities when federal assistance is not available. For more information, affected communities are encouraged to contact their local emergency management coordinators.

MEDC will continue to work with the MSP/EMHSD to ensure a coordinated response to deep freeze issues in the Upper and Lower Peninsulas.

Snyder declared a “state of emergency” on April 17 for Marquette County to ensure all possible state resources, in accordance with the Michigan Emergency Management Plan, would be provided to assist the local response to the damage caused by last winter’s extremely cold temperatures and deep frost levels. On May 7, the emergency declaration was amended to include Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Delta, Emmet, Gogebic, Luce and Mackinac counties.

Below is a list of communities and their eligible funding totals.




CDBG Eligible

Charter Township of Kinross


Cheboygan CRC


City of Bessemer


City of Charlevoix


City of Crystal Falls


City of Escanaba


City of Gladstone


Township of Bear Creek


City of Iron River


City of Ironwood


City of Ishpeming


City of Marquette


City of Munising


City of Negaunee


City of Petoskey


City of Sault Ste. Marie


City of St. Ignace


City of Wakefield


County of Marquette


Township of Adams


Township of Bessemer


Township of Calumet


Township of Ely


Township of Forsyth


Township of Ishpeming


Township of Maple Ridge


Township of Powell


Township of Republic


Township of St. James


Village of Calumet


Village of Laurium


Village of Newberry