Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments, reappointments to Agriculture Preservation Fund Board

Thursday, Sept. 18, 2014

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Brian Bourdages, of Traverse City, Kenneth DeCock, of Armada Township, and Jonathan Jarosz, of Bay City, and the reappointments of Eddie Moore, of Okemos, and Wayne Wood, of Marlette, to the Agriculture Preservation Fund Board.

The seven-member boardmanages the distribution of grants to preserve farmland and help preserve Michigan’s agricultural heritage. In addition to the governor’s appointees the board includes the directors of the Michigan Department of Natural Resources and the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development or their designees.

“Michigan has a strong food and agriculture industry and I am confident this board will work to protect this important piece of our economy,” Snyder said.

Bourdages is farmland program manager for the Grand Traverse Regional Land Conservancy. He worked as a land protection specialist with the Leelanau Conservancy and serves on the Michigan Civilian Conservation Corps Advisory Committee. He served as a board member on theTraverse City and Township of Garfield Joint Recreation Authority. Bourdages earned a bachelor’s degree in philosophy from Western Michigan University. He represents the general public and replaces Thomas O’Brien.

DeCock is the owner of DeCock & Sons LLC. DeCock has worked in the Macomb County farming industry since 1997 and is chairman of the Macomb Agriculture Purchase of Development Committee. He served on the Macomb County Conservation District board of directors and on the Michigan State Fair & Exposition Center Authority. He represents agriculture and replaces June Bailey.

Jarosz is executive director of Heart of the Lakes Center for Land Conservation Policy. He worked as director of university outreach for the University of Michigan-Flint, Midwest field representative for the Land Trust Alliance, and as a conservation planner for The Little Forks Conservancy and the Saginaw Bay Greenways Collaborative. Jarosz earned a bachelor’s degree in anthropology and sociology from Wayne State University and a master’s degree in resource development from Michigan State University. He represents the general public and replaces Rachel Kuntzsch.

Moore is a professor at Michigan State University in the Department of Community, Agriculture, Recreation and Resource Studies in the College of Agriculture and Natural Resources. He served as a White House senior executive in the U.S. Department of Agriculture, director of Michigan’s International Agricultural Program and as a research administrator for the Muskegon Area Intermediate School District. Moore earned a bachelor’s degree in dairy manufacturing from North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, a master’s degree in agricultural education from Virginia State University, and a Ph.D. in agricultural education from Ohio State University. He continues to represent the general public.

Wood is a dairy farmer and president of the Michigan Farm Bureau, where he has served in numerous leadership positions for more than 25 years. He serves as a director on the American Farm Bureau Federation. Wood helped develop and maintain resources for the Livestock Initiative and Project GREEN. He will continues to represent agriculture.

Members will serve four-year terms expiring June 10, 2018. Their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.