Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointment, reappointment to Crime Victim Services Commission

Tuesday, Oct. 14, 2014

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of William Fales, of Kalamazoo, and the reappointment of Victor Fitz, of Cassopolis, to the Crime Victim Services Commission.

The commission oversees the Crime Victim Compensation Program, which helps pay for out-of-pocket medical expenses, grief counseling, lost earnings, funeral bills and crime scene cleanup to eligible crime victims who may have suffered a physical injury. The commission also manages certain state and federal victim assistance grants.

"I am confident that William and Victor will work hard to ensure that Michigan crime victims are given timely, effective and compassioante assistance and guidance they need and deserve," Snyder said.

Fales is the assistant dean for clinical applications and program director for the EMS Fellowship Program, and associate professor of emergency medicine at Western Michigan University. He serves as EMS medical director for Kalamazoo County and is an appointed member of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) Regional Advisory Council for Region V. Fales worked as a flight physician, firefighter, and paramedic, and continues to regularly respond to EMS incidents. He earned a bachelor’s degree in accounting from Indiana University of Pennsylvania, and a doctorate from Jefferson Medical College. He represents members of the medical profession and Independents and replaces Donald Condit.

Fitz has worked as Cass County prosecutor for 10 years. He served as the senior assistant prosecutor in Muskegon County and chief assistant prosecutor in Tuscola County. He serves as the president of the Prosecuting Attorneys Association of Michigan and is on the Michigan Supreme Court Attorney Grievance Commission. Fitz earned a bachelor’s degree in history and a law degree from Valparaiso University. He continues to represent members admitted to practice law in this state and Republicans.

Appointees will serve the three-year terms expiring Sept. 27, 2017. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.