Skip to main content

Gov. Rick Snyder makes appointments, reappointment to Developmental Disabilities Council

Wednesday, March 11, 2015

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Andrea Sargent, of Ludington, Jane Reagan, of Williamston, and Marnie Wills, of Lansing, and the reappointment of Paul Palmer, of Lansing, to the Michigan Developmental Disabilities Council.

Housed within the Michigan Department of Community Health, the 21-member Council works to support people with developmental disabilities.

“This is a talented and experienced group of appointees and I am confident they will be assets to the council,” Snyder said.

Sargent is a regional parent mentor with the Michigan Alliance for Families. She was owner of A Virtual Wonder, a staffing company, and has experience as managing editor for Lanford Inc. Sargent earned an associate degree from West Shore Community College and is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in early childhood education from Ferris State University. She represents parents or guardians of a child with developmental disabilities and fills a vacancy.

Reagan is a department specialist with the Department of Education. She has more than 40 years of health care experience. Reagan earned a bachelor’s degree in human nutrition from Michigan State University and a master’s degree in public administration from Western Michigan University. She represents the Department of Education and replaces Susan Libetreau.

Wills works in the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs Office of Policy and Legislative Affairs. She earned a bachelor’s degree in international and comparative political science from Central Michigan University. She represents the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs and replaces Melanie Brown.

Palmer is chair of the Developmental Disabilities Council’s Transportation Workgroup. He continues to represent individuals with developmental disabilities.

Palmer will serve a four-year term expiring Sept. 30, 2018. Sargent, Wills, and Reagan will all serve the remainder of four-year terms expiring Sept. 30, 2016. Their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.