Skip to main content

Governor Granholm Announces Winners of Arts and Culture Awards

September 3, 2003

LANSING – Governor Jennifer M. Granholm today announced the nine recipients of the 18th Annual ArtServe Michigan Governor’s Awards for Arts & Culture.  Three special recognition awards were also announced.  Award categories and recipients are:
•International Achievement - Regina Carter (Detroit native)

•Civic Leader - Irene Walt (Huntington Woods)

•Business Honor Roll - Old Town Business and Art Development Association (Lansing)

•Arts in Education - Newaygo County Community Services (Fremont)

•Michigan Artist - Laurie Eisenhower (Rochester Hills)

•Emerging Artist - Sutton Foster (Troy native)

•Cultural Organization - Upper Peninsula Children’s Museum (Marquette)

•Cultural Organization - Michigan Association of Community Arts Agencies (Ann Arbor)

•Cultural Organization - Matrix Theatre Company (Detroit)

“I congratulate the Governor’s Awards winners for their continuing commitment to arts and culture in Michigan,” Granholm said.  “They demonstrate the talent and exceptional accomplishments of Michigan citizens and represent our Michigan spirit.”
The ArtServe Michigan Governor’s Awards for Arts & Culture honor outstanding achievement by organizations and individuals who create, foster, and support arts and culture in Michigan.  A volunteer committee of Michigan residents representing a wide range of artistic and cultural disciplines and geographic regions of the state selected the 2003 award winners.

The awards will be presented at a gala on November 10 at 6:30 p.m. at the Max M. Fisher Music Center, 3711 Woodward Ave., Detroit. 
“The selection process was highly competitive," stated Barbara Kratchman, President of ArtServe Michigan.  "Our awards selection committee labored with great diligence and care to make the very difficult choices demanded by such an award process.”
ArtServe Michigan Board of Directors’ Special Recognition Awards will be presented to Bob and Maggie Allesee (Bloomfield Hills), Jack and Aviva Robinson (Bloomfield Hills), and Chuck and Stella Royce (Grand Rapids).
The ArtServe Michigan Board of Directors’ Special Recognition Award honors organizations or individuals who have helped shape public support for the arts through their work as advocates by bringing state, national, and international recognition to Michigan through sustained dedication to artistic excellence.  The Special Recognition Award is presented at the discretion of the ArtServe Michigan Board of Directors.
The ArtServe Michigan Governor’s Awards for Arts & Culture sponsors are Bank One; Blue Cross Blue Shield of Michigan and Blue Care Network; Comerica, Inc.; DaimlerChrysler; Detroit Free Press; DTE Energy Foundation; Ford Motor Company; General Motors; Guardian Industries Corp.; Health Alliance Plan (HAP); Kendall College of Art and Design of Ferris State University; Masco Corporation; Marshall Field’s; PVS Chemicals, Inc.; Sphinx Organization; and Tiffany & Company.  Media partners include Detroit Public Television and WWJ News Radio 950.
More information about the Governor’s Awards for Arts & Culture, including a full list of past winners, is available on the ArtServe Michigan website at
ArtServe Michigan, a nonprofit, statewide organization, builds support for the arts, artists, and cultural activities in Michigan.  With offices in Southfield and Lansing, ArtServe encourages quality arts education in schools and communities, advocates for arts and culture throughout the state, and provides support services for artists, arts organizations and cultural institutions.