Skip to main content

Governor Granholm Appoints Scott Bowen State Lottery Commissioner

January 10, 2008

LANSING - Governor Jennifer M. Granholm today announced the appointment of M. Scott Bowen as state lottery commissioner.

"Scott's outstanding leadership abilities and enthusiasm for Michigan will ensure that the lottery continues to be a major contributor to funding public education in the state of Michigan," Granholm said.  "Scott has been an asset to the state in his tenure as the State Employer, and I have no doubt he will continue his successful track record at the lottery.  I'm proud to appoint him today."

The lottery commissioner is responsible for the overall management and operation of the bureau, including development of long-range plans, formulation of policy, assuring the accountability and integrity of the lottery, and establishing and maintaining contact with state legislators to research, evaluate, and gauge the impact of lottery-related legislation.  The Michigan lottery generates over $600 million each year for the state School Aid Fund, which supports K-12 public education in the state of Michigan. 

Bowen, 43, of Grand Rapids, most recently served as the director of the Office of the State Employer, a position he will resign.  Prior to this appointment, Bowen was a practicing attorney and served as judge of the 62-A District Court in Wyoming until July 2005.  Prior to his judicial appointment, Bowen was a partner at McInerney & Bowen and was a founder and partner of Bowen, Distel & Haynes P.L.C.

In addition to Bowen's appointment as the director of the Office of the State Employer and his judicial appointment, Bowen's previous government experience includes two terms on the Grand Rapids City Council, serving as president in 1999.  Bowen was also a special assistant attorney general for the Michigan Department of Transportation.

Bowen earned his law degree from the University of Detroit Law School and his bachelor's degree from Michigan State University.

Bowen's appointment is effective January 13, 2008; he replaces Gary Peters who has resigned.

# # #