Skip to main content

Snyder appoints members to Women's Commission

February 22, 2011

Contact: Sara Wurfel
(517) 335-6397 

LANSING, MI - Governor Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Susy Avery as executive director and Barbara B. Gattorn as chair of the Michigan Women's Commission.

"Susy and Barbara have extensive knowledge and background in public service that will support the mission of the Women's Commission, "said Snyder. "I look forward to their continued efforts of providing opportunity and growth for all women in Michigan."

Avery, of Bloomfield Hills, most recently worked as director of State Government Relations for Wayne County Airport Authority. She previously served as a federal and state issue consultant, as executive director for Travel Michigan and as a Wayne County Commissioner where she was responsible for staffing work groups on domestic violence. Avery has been a member of the board of directors for multiple institutions including; Blue Cross/Blue Shield, Automobile National Heritage Area and Achieve 121. She earned a bachelor's degree in political science from the University of Michigan-Dearborn and served on the Alumni Board of Governors.

Gattorn, of South Lyon, is appointed to the commission and has been designated chair. She retired after 26 years as senior advisor to the president of Detroit Regional Chamber where she spearheaded special projects and fund-raising activities for economic development work in Southeast Michigan. Gattorn previously served as the executive assistant to the vice president of human resources and purchasing at Michigan National Bank. She is currently active in multiple boards and commissions, including: the Loyola High School of Detroit, American Heart Association-Detroit, St. John's Providence Hospital, Vista Maria, Orchards, and the Archdiocese of Detroit Capital Campaign. She was named "One of the Most Influential Women in 2002" by Crain's.

Avery replaces retired executive director, Judy Karandjeff, and will serve at the pleasure of the governor. Gattorn replaces former chair, Emma Bell, and will serve a three-year term expiring Dec. 31, 2013. Gattorn's appointment is subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.