Skip to main content

Snyder appoints members to public safety commission and council

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

(517) 335-6397
Contact: Sara Wurfel  

LANSING, MI- Governor Rick Snyder today announced appointments to the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and the Fire Fighters Training Council.

"These individuals are dedicated to protecting our communities and state," said Snyder. "Their experience and leadership will benefit Michigan."

Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards (MCOLES)
MCOLES prepares public mandatory minimum requirements and training standards for entry-level law enforcement officers.

Mike Wendling is appointed and James D. Bosscher, Ronald J. Bretz, Doreen Ensign Olko and Richard R. Weiler are reappointed.

  • Wendling, the Prosecuting Attorney of St. Clair County, represents the Prosecuting Attorneys Association of Michigan. He replaces David L. Morse.

  • Bosscher, the Sheriff of Missaukee County, is a former chair of MCOLES and has served on the board since 2004.

  • Bretz, of Lansing, is a professor at Cooley Law School and is a former staff attorney at the State Appellate Defenders Office.

  • Olko is the chief of police of Auburn Hills. She has served on the board since 2006.

  • Weiler, of Sterling Heights, is the director of the Police Officers Labor Council.

Appointees serve four-year terms expiring on Nov. 1, 2014, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

Fire Fighters Training Council
The council prepares and publishes training standards, courses of study, certifies instructors and sets up regional training centers for state, local and federal fire agencies.

Brian Blomstrom, Tim James, Aileen Pettinger, David Purchase, and Steve Richardson are appointed. Current member, Mike Deprez, is designated chair.

  • Deprez is fire chief of Sterling Heights, and is appointed chair of the council, serving at the pleasure of the governor. Deprez represents the Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs.

  • Blomstrom, of Sheridan, works for the city of Greenville in Montcalm County as the deputy director of the Department of Public Safety. He previously worked for the city of Stanton and Montcalm County Emergency Services. Blomstrom represents the Michigan Fire Services Instructors Association.

  • James, of Vermontville, is fire chief of the Potterville/Benson Township and Sunfield-Sebewa-Danby fire district in Eaton County. He previously served in the Lansing Fire Department as a training captain. James represents the Michigan Association of Fire Chiefs.

  • Pettinger, of Saginaw, has been a Saginaw firefighter for 14 years and serves as an engineer with the department. She previously worked as an EMT with Bay Medical Center and as a volunteer fire fighter for Hampton Township. Pettinger represents the Michigan Professional Fire Fighters Union.

  • Purchase, of Norton Shores, has served as Fire Chief of the City of Norton Shores for 12 years and has been a full-time firefighter for the department for 27 years. Purchase represents the Michigan Municipal League.
  • Richardson, of Alpena, is a firefighter/EMT for the Alpena Township Fire Department. He previously served as a fire chief in Paw Paw. Richardson represents the Michigan State Firemen's Association.

Appointees serve three-year terms, expiring on Dec. 31, 2013, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.