Skip to main content

Snyder appoints members to agriculture committees and commission

March 4, 2011

(517) 335-6397
Contact: Sara   

LANSING, MI - Governor Rick Snyder today announced appointments to the Michigan Cherry Committee, Dairy Marketing Committee and Soybean Commission. "These individuals bring tremendous experience and work ethic as we seek to develop innovative ideas in our agriculture industry to make Michigan a better and stronger state," said Snyder.

Michigan Cherry Committee

District 1, tart cherry growers, John Bull and District 1, sweet cherry growers, Paul Hubbell are reappointed. District 2, tart cherry growers, Andrew Riley is appointed. District 3, tart cherry growers, Kurt Brian Dowd is reappointed.

Bull, of Arcadia, is the owner of Arcadian Orchards, Inc. and has been farming for nearly 40 years. He has held positions with the Manistee County Farm Bureau and the Soil District Board of Directors, where he was named "Soil Conservation Man of the Year."

Hubbell, of Williamsburg, is co-owner of Orchard View Farms and has been farming for more than 35 years. He is the president of the Grand Traverse Fruit Council and a trustee of Whitewater Township.

Riley, of Mears, is a member of Riley Orchards. He started farming in 2003 upon earning an associate degree in applied science. Riley will replace Michael VanAgtmael.

Dowd, of Hartford, is a farm manager for Dowd Orchards Inc. and is an insurance agent with Farm Bureau Insurance. He has been farming for more than 17 years and previously served on the Michigan Asparagus Advisory Board.

Appointees serve three-year terms, expiring on Feb. 1, 2014, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

Michigan Dairy Marketing Committee

Corby Werth is appointed. Eric Jon Frahm and David Marvin Lott are reappointed.

Werth, of Alpena, is the owner, partner and herdsman of Werth Dairy Farm. With 16 years of farming experience, Werth serves as president and delegate for his local milk cooperative and is a member of the cooperative's state advisory and resolutions committees. Werth will replace Michael Allen Schwab.

Frahm, of Frankenmuth, is sole-proprietor of a dairy and sugar beet farm and has been a self-employed dairy farmer for more than 20 years. He was named the Michigan Milk Producers "Outstanding Young Cooperator" in 2000 and the Michigan Jaycees "Outstanding Young Farmer" in 2001.

Lott, of Mason, is the owner of Mar-Jo-Lo Farms. He has owned and operated the dairy farm for nearly 40 years. The Mar-Jo-Lo farm grows feed for dairy cows and sells 1.5 million gallons of milk per year.

Appointees serve three-year terms, expiring on Dec. 31, 2013, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.

Michigan Soybean Commission

Benjamin Chaffin for District 7 and George Zmitko for District 6, are reappointed.

Chaffin, of Ithaca, is the owner of Chaffin Farms. He has been a farmer for nine years and owns more than 1,910 acres of land. He earned a bachelor's degree in agribusiness management and a master's degree in agriculture economics from Michigan State University.

Zmitko, of Owosso, is the owner of Zmitko Farms. He has been a farmer for more than 40 years and has integrated modern technology into his farming practices. Zmitko was named a partner of the Natural Resources Conservation Service and was honored with the Shiawassee County "Farm Bureau Distinguished Service Award."

Appointees serve three-year terms, expiring on Sept. 30, 2013, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.