Skip to main content

Appointments made to Board of Speech-Language Pathology

April 1, 2011

Contact: Sara Wurfel
(517) 335-6397

LANSING, Mich. - Governor Rick Snyder today announced appointments to the Michigan Board of Speech-Language Pathology.

The board oversees the issuance of licenses to applicants, promulgates rules, prescribes continued education and recommends disciplinary action for individuals in the profession.

"I am confident these talented individuals will use their expertise to develop an effective licensing process for speech-language pathologists," Snyder said.

Vasu Divi, M.D., is appointed; Brit Austin and Frances Eldis, Ph.D., are reappointed.

Divi, M.D., of Ann Arbor, is a clinical lecturer at the University of Michigan, Department of Otolaryngology. Prior to working with the University of Michigan, he was a fellow in head and neck oncology, skull base surgery and microvascular reconstruction at Harvard University. Dr. Divi earned a bachelor's degree in economics and a M.D. with distinction from the University of Michigan. He serves the remainder of a term expiring December 31, 2013, which was held by Dr. Glendon Michael Gardner.

Austin, of Oxford, is a speech-language pathologist with EBS Healthcare and Rainbow Rehabilitation. She previously served as an instructor of English writing at Mott Community College as well as an instructor of ESL and German at PALS International. Austin earned a bachelor's and master's degree, both in linguistics, from Eastern Michigan University as well as a master's degree in speech-language pathology from Michigan State University.

Eldis, Ph.D., of Redford, is the former director of both the Marie Carls Communication Disorders Center and Pediatric Otolaryngology at the Children's Hospital of Michigan. She currently serves as a part-time faculty member in the Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders at Wayne State University. She earned a bachelor's degree in special education, a master's degree in speech pathology and a doctorate degree in audiology, all from Wayne State University.

Austin and Eldis serve four-year terms expiring Dec. 31, 2014, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.