Skip to main content

Appointments made to the Board of Dentistry

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Contact: Sara Wurfel
Office: 517-335-6397

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced appointments to the Michigan Board of Dentistry.

Daniel Briskie, Sandra Franklin, Donna Hondorp, Kerry M. Kaysserian and Carol Stamm are appointed and Craig Spencer is reappointed.

The board regulates the practice of dentistry and dental hygiene and authorizes dental assistants. 

"The appointees bring extraordinary ability and experience to the board as we continue to provide Michigan's citizens with the highest quality of dental care," Snyder said.

Briskie, of Grand Blanc, is a pediatric dentist at Arnold Tracht and Daniel Briskie, DDS, PC. He also works as a pediatric dentist in the Department of Surgery at Detroit Children's Hospital and as an adjunct assistant professor of dentistry in the Department of Orthodontics and Pediatric Dentistry at the University of Michigan. Briskie earned a bachelor's degree in microbiology from the University of Massachusetts, a DDS from State University of New York at Buffalo and a certificate in pediatric dentistry from Mott Children's Health Center/Hurley Medical Center, where he also completed his residency and was chief resident. Briskie represents dentists with a Health Profession Specialty Certification and replaces Timothy Schmakel.

Franklin, of St. Clair Shores, is a registered dental hygienist at Periodontal Specialties in Sterling Heights and has 40 years of clinical experience. She is a member of the American Dental Hygienists' Association, the Michigan Oral Health Coalition and serves on the Michigan Volunteer Registry and the Heartfelt Project. Franklin obtained a certificate as a registered dental hygienist from the University of Detroit. She represents dental hygienists and replaces Charlotte Wyche.

Hondorp, of Williamston, is an account director at Marketing Resource Group Inc. (MRG) in Lansing. She previously served as senior account manager for Ruder Finn, one of the nation's largest public relations firms.  Hondorp serves as a media relations volunteer for Ele's Place and earned the 2007 Ele's Award for outstanding contribution as a volunteer. She was a former reporter and producer for broadcast news. Hondorp earned a bachelor's degree from James Madison College at Michigan State University. She represents the general public and replaces Charlene Snow.

Kaysserian, of Traverse City, is owner and member of Access Dental Group PLLC in Traverse City. He serves on the University of Michigan School of Dentistry Alumni Advisory Board and the Grand Traverse Area Chamber of Commerce Government Affairs Committee. Kaysserian also serves as a corporate member for Delta Dental Plan of Michigan and served on the Delta Dental Fund Board of Trustees. Kaysserian earned both a bachelor's degree in business adminsitation and DDS from the University of Michigan. He represents dentists and replaces Solomon Pesis.

Stamm, of Howell, is the clinic coordinator of restorative research at the University of Michigan. She previously served in a private practice for more than 20 years as a dental assistant and has a total of 35 years of experience in the dental field. Stamm earned a certificate of dental assisting from Washtenaw Community College and is certified by the Society for Clinical Research Associates. She represents dental assistants and replaces Jo Ann Buchheister.

Spencer, of East Lansing, is owner and operator of Craig W. Spencer DDS in Lansing and currently serves as chair of the Board of Dentistry. He previously served six years in the Navy as a dental officer and continues to serve in the Navy Reserve providing dental care to soldiers and sailors. Spencer is a member of the American Dental Association, the Michigan Dental Association and the Central District Dental Society. Spencer earned both a bachelor's degree and a DDS from the University of Michigan. He represents dentists.

The appointees will serve four-year terms expiring June 30, 2015 and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.