Skip to main content

Snyder appoints two members to Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Contact: Sara Wurfel
517-335-6397 or 

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today appointed Scott Carmona and Jenee Velasquez to the Saginaw Valley State University Board of Control.

The board of control is the governing body of Saginaw Valley State University and has general oversight over the allocation of SVSU's resources. 

"Scott and Jenee's professional experience will play an invaluable role to the board as we work to provide Michigan's college students with the proper tools to succeed in the future," Snyder said.

Carmona, of Bay City, is the president of Sunrise National Distributors Inc., a national distributor of aftermarket automotive accessories. He also is the developer, owner and managing member of several real estate developments. Carmona is a founding member of the Blue Water Angels and the 100 Club of Bay City. He is president of the board for the YMCA of Bay City and volunteers on the Bay County Growth Alliance and Saginaw Valley State University Board of Fellows. Carmona was awarded in 1997 "Entrepreneur of the Year" by the SVSU's Business and Industrial Development Institute.  He earned a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering and applied science from Saginaw Valley State University. Carmona replaces Lawrence Sedrowski.

Velasquez, of Midland, is the executive director of the Herbert H. and Grace A. Dow Foundation. She serves as chair of the Delta College Foundation Board, the Midland Brownfield Redevelopment Financing Authority and the Midland Entranceway Initiative Task Force. Velasquez also is a member of the MITech+ Board, Mid-Michigan Innovation Center Board and Saginaw Valley State University Board of Fellows. She previously was CEO of Midland Tomorrow, served as the first downtown coordinator of the City of Midland's Downtown Development Authority, and received the 2010 Woman of Distinction Award from the Zonta Club of Midland. Velasquez earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from Kansas State University and an MBA from Michigan State University.  She replaces Dr. K.P. Karunakaran.

Appointees will serve eight-year terms expiring July 21, 2019, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.