Skip to main content

Appointments made to board of acupuncture

Monday, Aug. 15, 2011

Contact: Sara Wurfel
P: 517-335-6397 or E: 

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today appointed David Krofcheck, William Sullivan and Xiaohong Tan to the Michigan Board of Acupuncture.

The board was created to license and regulate the practice of acupuncture in Michigan.

"The experiences and skills of these individuals will play a crucial role on the board as it oversees the practice of acupuncture in our state," Snyder said.

Krofcheck, of Richland, is the president of Health & Energy, P.C. and has more than 25 years of experience in practicing acupuncture and oriental medicine. He previously worked as an independent contractor performing acupuncture and oriental medicine in Artesia and Studio City, Calif. Krofcheck earned a bachelor's degree in psychology from California State University, Northridge, a diploma in acupuncture and an oriental medicine doctorate, both from California Acupuncture College. Krofcheck represents acupuncturists and replaces Jason Troy Pettet.

Sullivan, of DeWitt, is the director of legislative and insurance affairs for the Michigan Dental Association. He previously served as special counsel to Senate Majority Leader Mike Bishop, special counsel and deputy chief of staff to Senate Majority Leader Ken Sikkema, and chief of staff to Sen. Loren Bennett. Sullivan is a member of the State Bar of Michigan, the city of DeWitt Planning Commission and DeWitt Public Schools Foundation. He earned a bachelor's degree from the University of Michigan - Dearborn and a degree from the University of Notre Dame Law School. He represents the general public and replaces Matthew Steigenga.

Tan, of East Lansing, is an acupuncturist at Jamieson Total Health Center in Lansing, and has more than 29 years of experience practicing acupuncture. She is a member of the China Association of Acupuncture and is certified as a National Certification Acupuncturist in the U.S. Tan earned a medical degree from the Human College of Traditional Chinese Medicine in China. She represents acupuncturists and replaces Craig Houchen.

Appointees will serve four-year terms expiring June 30, 2015, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.