Skip to main content

Snyder appoints members to Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs

Friday, Dec. 9, 2011

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of five members to the Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs.

The council encourages, develops and facilitates an enriched environment of creative and cultural activity in Michigan.

"The importance of place, including arts and culture, is key to economic development in our communities and state," Gov. Snyder said.  "I'm confident these individuals will use their backgrounds and talents to help enhance Michigan as a place where workers, entrepreneurs and businesses want to locate, invest and expand."

Appointed member and chair:
Andrew Buchholz of Traverse City, is the director of external relations and a charitable gifts officer at Interlochen Center for the Arts. He previously served as director of advocacy initiatives for ArtServe Michigan, program director for the Michigan House Civics Commission and legislative assistant in the State House of Representatives. Buchholz earned a bachelor's degree in political science and interdisciplinary studies from Michigan State University. He replaces Samir Singh.

Appointed members:
Elizabeth Ahrens of Harbor Springs, is the executive director of the Crooked Tree Arts Center in Petoskey, where she previously served as development director and marketing and public relations director. The Center serves more than 300 students tuition-free in 19 area schools with ballet, jazz and hip hop programs and scholarships. She earned a bachelor's degree in humanities from Michigan State University and a master's degree in organizational management from Spring Arbor University. She replaces Vivian Pickard.

Bob LoFiego of Midland, is the manager of Community Relations for Three Rivers Corporation in Midland. He serves on numerous boards including more than 28 years with the Midland Center for the Arts. LoFiego earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from California State University. He fills a vacancy left by the resignation of T. Michael Jackson.

DeAnn Nixon of Okemos, is a graduate with honors from the Interlochen Arts Academy, where she performed with the Interlochen Arts Academy Orchestra at the Lincoln Center and Kennedy Center. She has extensive teaching experience in music instruction. Nixon earned a bachelor's degree in music education from Brigham Young University. She replaces Noel Baril.

Julia Taubman of Bloomfield Hills, is chairman and one of the founding members of the Museum of Contemporary Art in Detroit. She previously served as a special assistant with the U.S. Department of Veteran Affairs. Taubman earned a bachelor's degree in communications from Ohio University and replaces Fay Beydoun.

Appointees will serve three-year terms expiring Sept. 1, 2014, and are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.