Skip to main content

State Transportation Commission members appointed

Wednesday, Dec. 28, 2011 

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Michael Hayes, of Midland, and Sharon Rothwell, of Ann Arbor, to the Michigan State Transportation Commission, which is the policy-making body for all state transportation programs.


"Sound infrastructure is key to Michigan's present and future," Snyder said. "I am confident Mike and Sharon will use their tremendous skills and backgrounds to ensure our state's transportation programs are running most effectively and efficiently."


Hayes is the president and CEO of the Midland Center for the Arts. He previously served as president and founder of Main Street Consulting and as vice president of executive relations and various other roles at Dow Chemical Co. for 20 years. Before Dow, he served four terms as a state representative in the Michigan Legislature. Hayes earned a bachelor's degree in psychology and sociology and a master's degree in business management and public policy, both from Central Michigan University. Hayes will replace Ted Wahby.


Rothwell, of Ann Arbor, is the vice president of corporate affairs for Masco Corporation. She previously served as the chief of staff for former Gov. Engler. Rothwell earned a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in public administration, both from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She will replace James Scalici.


Appointees will serve three-year terms expiring Dec. 21, 2014, and are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.