Skip to main content

Board of Respiratory Care appointments and reappointments made

Thursday, Jan. 5, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Beverly Cherwinski, of Vanderbilt, and Richard Tooker, of Grand Rapids, and the reappointment of Carl Haas, of Ann Arbor, to the Michigan Board of Respiratory Care.

The board oversees the licensing requirements and standards for respiratory therapists. 

"I am confident these individuals will use their expertise and backgrounds to best serve the citizens of Michigan and ensure they receive the most appropriate care and services," Snyder said. 

Cherwinski is the founder and president of Organ Transplant Support Group of Northern Michigan. She is also a volunteer in the surgical waiting room at Otsego Memorial Hospital. Cherwinski is a single lung transplant recipient after being diagnosed with Antrypsin Defincency, which is a lack of protein that protects the lungs from dust, pollen and pollution. She participated in the 2010 Transplant Games and won a silver medal in badminton. Cherwinski will represent the general public and replaces Kathleen Mutch.

Tooker is the medical director for the Allegan County Health Department and a clinical associate professor for the Michigan State University College of Human Medicine. He previously served as the chief medical officer of the Kalamazoo County Health and Community Service Department and as the chief medical examiner of the Kalamazoo County Medical Examiner's Department. Tooker earned an MPH from the University of Michigan and a medical degree from Michigan State University. He will represent medical directors and replaces Frank Sprague.

Haas is the education and research coordinator for the University of Michigan Hospitals and Health Centers. He serves on the Respiratory Care Program Advisory Committees at Henry Ford Community College, Jackson Community College, Ferris State University, and Mott Community College. Haas earned an associate's degree from Delta Community College, an associate's degree in respiratory therapy from Washtenaw Community College, a bachelor's degree from Siena Heights University, and a master's degree in technology from Eastern Michigan University. He will represent respiratory therapists.

Cherwinski will serve the remainder of a term expiring Dec. 31, 2014. Tooker and Haas will serve four-year terms expiring Dec. 31, 2015. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.