Skip to main content

Appointments made to state's chiropractic board

Friday, Feb. 10, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today appointed Robert Huta, Donald Reno and Ronald Wilcox to the Michigan Board of Chiropractic.

The nine-member board sets the entry level competency for health practitioners and verifies continuing education during licensure, protecting and promoting the public's health, safety and welfare.

 "I am confident these individuals will bring their years of knowledge and experience to the board, and will continue to help ensure our citizens are provided with safe, quality service," Snyder said. 

Huta, of Gaylord, is the owner and president of RLH Industries, Inc., a small business in the hearth and venting industry. He also serves as president of the Mid-States Hearth Patio and Barbeque Association. Huta attended the University of Michigan- Dearborn where he earned a bachelor's degree in economics and political science. He will represent the general public and replaces Charles Fellows. 

Reno, of Harrison Township, is the director of Reno Chiropractic Center in Sterling Heights, where he has been in private practice for more than 25 years. He is a member of the Michigan Chiropractic Pediatric Association and serves as chairman of the board for the Michigan Association of Chiropractors, the organization which named him 2010 Chiropractor of the Year. He attended the University of Detroit and Life Chiropractic College in Marietta, Georgia, where he received his degree in chiropractic medicine. Reno will represent chiropractors and replaces Corey Rodnick.

Wilcox, of Wyoming, is a chiropractor and owner of the Alpine Chiropractic Center in Comstock Park, where he has been in practice for more than 35 years. He received the 2011 Pioneer Award from the Michigan Association of Chiropractors. Wilcox earned a bachelor's degree in group social studies from Grand Valley State University and his degree in chiropractic medicine from Palmer College in Florida. He will represent chiropractors and replaces Philip Knight.

Appointees will serve four-year terms expiring Dec. 31, 2015. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.