Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments to Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Board

Friday, March 23, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Lena Epstein Koretzky, of Bloomfield Hills, and Karl Ieuter, of Sanford, to the Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Board.  

The 11-person board promotes the health, safety and welfare of Michigan's children and families by funding local programs and services that prevent child abuse and neglect.

"Lena and Karl both bring extensive experiences to this board," said Snyder. "I am confident they will assist the board in providing such vital services to the citizens of Michigan." 

Koretzky is co-owner and general manager of Vesco Oil Corp. in Southfield. Previously, she worked as Vesco's director of process management and senior manager of the profit enhancement team. Koretzky serves as a marketing committee member for the Federation of Metropolitan Detroit, a member of the board of directors for the Alzheimer's Association of Michigan and is a past recipient of the Crain's Detroit Business "20 in their 20s" Award. She earned a bachelor's degree in economics from Harvard University and a master's degree in general management from the University of Michigan's Ross School of Business. Koretzky will represent the general public and replaces Trisha Stein.

Ieuter is owner and vice president of Ieuter Insurance Group in Midland. He previously worked as an insurance broker, risk management underwriter and social service underwriter. Ieuter serves on the Midland Chamber Government Affairs Committee, United Way Young Leaders United Executive Board and is a member and two-term president of the NE Michigan Chartered Property Casualty Underwriter Chapter. He holds a bachelor's degree in finance from Miami University in Ohio and a master's degree in risk management and insurance from Georgia State University. Ieuter will represent the general public and replaces Douglas Paterson.

Appointees will serve three-year terms that expire Dec. 19, 2014, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.