Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments to Advisory Committee on Pain and Symptom Management

Wednesday, May 9, 2012 


LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Dr. Marie Atkinson, of Royal Oak, and Dr. Robert Noiva, of Rochester, to the Advisory Committee on Pain and Symptom Management.


Created in 1998, the committee is made up of representatives from many of the state's health professional boards. The eight members are tasked with addressing issues relating to pain and symptom management.


"This committee plays a key role in ensuring a high quality of life for patients," said Snyder. "I am pleased to appoint Marie and Robert, and look forward to their expertise and input on the board helping ensure patient quality of life."


Atkinson will represent Wayne State University School of Medicine, where she is a physician and assistant professor of neurology. She also is the creator and co-coordinator of an exchange program with neurology colleagues in Vietnam, where they are working to ensure best practices in epilepsy surgery and neurocritical care in Ho Chi Minh City. Atkinson earned a bachelor's degree and a doctorate in biological sciences, both from Wayne State University. She will fill the board vacancy created by the resignation of Dr. Sunitha Santhakumar.


Noiva is an associate professor of biomedical sciences and the associate dean for medical education at Oakland University. Previously, he served as director of medical biochemistry for Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine in Pennsylvania, associate professor of basic biomedical sciences and assistant professor in the biochemistry and molecular biology department, both at the University of South Dakota. Noiva holds a bachelor's degree in biochemistry from Michigan State University and a doctorate in biological chemistry from Creighton University in Nebraska. He will represent Oakland University's William Beaumont School of Medicine.


Appointees will fill the remainder of two-year terms that expire July 1, 2013. Their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.