Skip to main content

Appointments made to Board of Nursing

Friday, July 6, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder announced the appointments of Joshua Meringa, of Grandville; Mary Vander Kolk, of Traverse City; and Jill DeVries, of Zeeland, to the Michigan Board of Nursing.

"These experienced professionals are committed to excellence in nursing and I am confident they will serve as great additions to the board," Snyder said. 

The 23-member board oversees the licensure requirements and standards for nurses in Michigan and serve four-year terms.

Meringa is a registered nurse and nurse educator for Spectrum Health Hospitals, and will represent professional registered nurses with baccalaureate degree engaged in nursing practice or administration. He previously served as chairman of the Spectrum Health Central Shared Leadership Council and as an RN in orthopedics and trauma. He has master's degrees in health and public administration from Grand Valley State University and a bachelor's in nursing from Calvin College. He replaces Donica Stubbs and his term expires June 30, 2016.

Vander Kolk will represent professional registered nurses with a baccalaureate degree engaged in nursing education in a licensed practical nurse program. She is a professor of nursing and lead instructor at Northwestern Michigan College, and previously worked at Munson Medical Center, Eastern Michigan University, Catherine McCauley Health Center, and Sparrow Hospital. She has a bachelor's in psychology and nursing from Michigan State University, a master's in nursing from Wayne State University and a master's in business administration from Lake Superior State University. She replaces Michelle Johnson and her term expires June 30, 2016.

DeVries is a licensed practical nurse at Spectrum Health Zeeland Community Hospital and will represent licensed practical nurses on the board. She has extensive experience in surgery, pediatrics, intensive care, obstetrics, and burn and wound care. DeVries has a certificate in practical nursing from Grand Rapids Community College. She replaces Melynda Daley and her term expires June 30, 2016.

All appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.