Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments to Oakland University Board of Trustees

Tuesday, August 14, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Scott Kunselman, of White Lake, and Dennis Pawley, of Waterford, to the Oakland University Board of Trustees.  

The eight-member board provides general oversight of the university, including control and direction of all institution expenditures.


"Scott and Dennis each have years of executive leadership experience and are well prepared to serve on the board of one of Michigan's key public universities," said Snyder.


Kunselman is senior vice president at Chrysler, responsible for all purchasing and supplier quality activities, including both product-related components and indirect suppliers and services. He previously served the company as senior vice president of engineering, vice president for body on frame products and as a product engineer. Kunselman is a 25-year member of the Society of Automotive Engineers and the executive sponsor for Chrysler's Institute of Engineering Management Training. He holds a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering from Carnegie Mellon University and an MBA and master's degree in mechanical engineering from the University of Michigan. Kunselman replaces Jacqueline Long.


Pawley is a retired executive vice president of manufacturing for Daimler-Chrysler North America. He is cofounder of the Lean Learning Center, which assists auto suppliers in developing lean operating systems, and owns the management consulting firm, Pawley Enterprises. Pawley also served in roles at United Technologies Corp., Mazda Motor Corp. and at General Motors. He is a 2010 inductee into the Manufacturing Hall of Fame and previously served on the school's board of trustees from 2002-2010. Pawley earned a bachelor's degree in human resource development from Oakland University. He replaces Henry Baskin.


Appointees will serve eight-year terms that expire Aug. 11, 2020, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.