Skip to main content

Appointments, reappointment made to Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced four appointments and one reappointment to the Michigan Pharmacy and Therapeutics Committee.

Housed within the Michigan Department of Community Health, the 11-member board advises the department on issues affecting prescription drug coverage for its various health care programs.  


"These appointees are outstanding health care professionals and bring great experiences to the committee," said Snyder. "I am thankful for their willingness to serve."



Louis Cannon, of Petoskey, is president of the Cardiac and Vascular Research Center of Northern Michigan and program director of the McLaren Northern Michigan Heart and Vascular Institute. He is former president and founder of the Michigan CardioVascular Institute and the Central Michigan Cardiovascular Network. Cannon holds a bachelor's degree from Wittenberg University and a degree from the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine, both in Ohio. He will represent physicians and replaces Paul Dake.


Michael Crowe, of Flint, is president and founder of My Pharmacist Now PLLC and a clinical pharmacist with Diplomat Specialty Pharmacy. With Diplomat Specialty Pharmacy, he has held various positions, including community pharmacy resident, clinical program coordinator and clinical services manager. Crowe earned a pharmacy degree from Ferris State University and is currently pursuing a master's degree in business administration from the University of Michigan - Flint. He will represent pharmacists and replaces Erin Inman.


Jennifer Dehlin, of Marquette, is a family physician with Marquette General Hospital and associate medical director of Lake Superior Hospice. She is a member of the American Academy of Family Physicians and the Marquette Alger Medical Society executive board. Dehlin received a bachelor's degree in biomedical engineering from Michigan Technological University and a medical degree from the University of Michigan. She will represent physicians and replaces Kahn Nedd.


Tina Tanner, of Shelby, is a family physician at Spectrum Health System's Hesperia Medical Center. Previously, she served as a family physician with Muskegon Family Care, Baldwin Family Health Care and Shelby Family Care Center. Tanner holds a bachelor's degree from Western Michigan University and a medical degree from Michigan State University. She will represent physicians and replaces Blake Casher.



Derek Quinn, of Kalamazoo, is adjunct faculty at Ferris State University and a pharmacist and pharmacy manager at Westlake Drug Inc., where he has worked since 2000. Previously, he held the positions of pharmacy technician, staff pharmacist and student pharmacist. Quinn earned a pharmacy degree from Ferris State University, and received immunization administration and diabetes medication therapy management certifications from the University of Findlay's College of Pharmacy in Ohio. He will continue to represent pharmacists.


Appointees will serve two-year terms that expire Oct. 1, 2014, and their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.