Skip to main content

Appointments made to Michigan Education Trust board of directors

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Cheryl Bartholic, of East Lansing, Sarah Richardville, of South Rockwood, and Ronald Wiser, of South Haven, to the Michigan Education Trust board of directors.

Housed within the Michigan Department of Treasury, the eight-person committee serves as an advisory board for the Michigan Education Savings Program.

"These appointees bring years of outstanding experiences to the board, and I am thankful for their willingness to serve the people of Michigan in these roles," said Snyder. 

Bartholic is group manager and senior vice president of Independent Bank's commercial banking team, a position she has held since 1999. Previously, she served as vice president of commercial loans for National City Bank. Bartholic is chair of the Junior League of Lansing Endowment Board and is a member of the Lansing Symphony Orchestra board. She holds a bachelor's degree in finance from Michigan State University. Bartholic will represent persons with knowledge, skills and experience in the academic, business or financial fields, and replaces Don Leclair.

Richardville is dean of students for Monroe County Middle College. Previously, she served as a health science educator and as chair of the science department at Monroe High School, and as adjunct faculty at Monroe County Community College. Richardville earned a bachelor's degree in biology from Albion College and a master's degree in education from Grand Valley State University. She will represent nominees of the Senate majority leader and replaces Gregory Clevenger.

Wiser is chairman of the board for The Wiser Financial Group, one of southwest Michigan's largest and oldest financial planning organizations. He brings more than 45 years of retirement and estate planning and investment guidance experience to the board. Wiser is a member of Southwest Michigan First and the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra board. He will represent nominees of the Speaker of the House and replaces Marlene Davis.

Appointees will serve three-year terms that expire Dec. 31, 2014, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.