Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments, reappointments

Wednesday, December 26, 2012


LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced appointments to the Traffic Safety Advisory Commission and Michigan Asparagus Marketing Advisory Board, and reappointments to the Electronic Recording Commission.

Matthew Saxton, of Battle Creek, and Jennifer Shea, of Ferndale, were appointed to the Traffic Safety Advisory Commission. Kyle Weber, of Watervliet, and Dwight Fuehring, of Mears, were appointed to the Michigan Asparagus Marketing Advisory Board. Christian Meyer, of Grand Rapids, and Bambi Somerlott, of Hillsdale, were reappointed to the Electronic Recording Commission.


"I thank these commissioners and board members for their willingness to serve these important roles on behalf of the people of Michigan," Snyder said.


Traffic Safety Advisory Commission


Saxton replaces Calhoun County Sheriff Allen Byam, who resigned, to represent local government on the commission, and will serve the remainder of the term expiring May 27, 2013. Saxton was recently elected Calhoun County sheriff and has served various roles within the sheriff's office since 1994, including deputy, sergeant, lieutenant, and captain. He is also active in the community, serving on the Calhoun County Elder Abuse Coalition, Michigan Prisoner Reentry Initiative and the Battle Creek United Way. Saxton earned a bachelor's degree in criminal justice from Lake Superior State University and attended the Northwestern University School of Police Staff and Command, and the FBI National Academy.


Shea replaces Kevin McNielly, who resigned, and will serve as the governor's designee for a term that expires at the pleasure of the governor. She is a pediatric injury prevention specialist at C.S. Mott Children's Hospital and buckle up coordinator for Safe Kids of Huron Valley. She previously worked with the Arab American and Chaldean Council, Gateway Community Health, Lifespan Clinical Services, and the Children's Home of Detroit. Shea is a certified child passenger safety instructor and holds a bachelor's in psychology from the University of Detroit Mercy.


Appointments to the commission are not subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.


Michigan Asparagus Marketing Advisory Board


Weber replaces Rodney Winkel to represent growers-at-large, and will serve a term expiring Nov. 13, 2015. He is an executive assistant for MM Farms, where he manages more than 100 acres of land used to grow asparagus, cucumbers, apples and peaches. He also supervises 35 employees and specializes in chemical and fertilizer application as well as provides customer service support. Weber is also a supervisor at the Hartford-based Wise Farms and Storage and a general operations manager at Weber Orchards in Benton Harbor. He has an associate degree in agricultural business management from Michigan State University.


Fuehring replaces Eugene Kokx to represent North-Central Michigan growers for a term expiring Nov. 13, 2015. He owns and operates C&D Fuehring Farms, where he has grown asparagus for more than 25 years.


Appointments to the board are subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.


Electronic Recording Commission


Meyer was reappointed to represent attorneys who emphasize real estate issues for a term expiring Jan. 1, 2016. He is a partner at the Warner Norcross & Judd law firm and has bachelor's degrees in philosophy and political science from Calvin College, a master's in government and international relations from Notre Dame, and a law degree from the University of Virginia.


Somerlott was reappointed to represent county registers of deeds for a term expiring Jan. 1, 2016. She serves as the Hillsdale County Register of Deeds and as president of the Michigan Association of registers of Deeds.


Appointments to the commission are not subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.