Skip to main content

Appointments made to Mackinac Island State Park Commission

Friday, March 8, 2013

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Mary Callewaert, of Mackinac Island, and William Deary, of Jackson, to the Mackinac Island State Park Commission.  

Formed in 1895, this commission oversees operations and maintenance of Mackinac State Historic Parks, which include Fort Mackinac, historic downtown Mackinac Island, Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum, Mackinac Island State Park, Colonial Michilimackinac, Old Mackinac Point Lighthouse, and the Historic Mill Creek Discovery Park. No more than four members can be from the same political party.


"Mary and William bring exceptional, valuable experiences to the commission and I am confident they will do great work to preserve and promote all that Mackinac Island has to offer," said Snyder. "I want to recognize the nearly three decades of service shared between Mr. Cawthorne and Mr. Goodman as members of this commission, and extend sincere thanks for their outstanding dedication to Mackinac Island and the Great Lakes State." 


Callewaert's family owns many Mackinac Island businesses, including Ryba's Fudge Shops, Island House, Pancake House and Mary's Bistro, many of which she has worked for throughout the years. She also serves as a Mackinac Island Tourism Bureau board member. Callewaert, a Republican, holds a bachelor's degree from the Center for Creative Studies in Detroit. She will serve as a resident commissioner and replaces Dennis Cawthorne.


Deary is owner and chief executive officer of Great Lakes Home Health Services Inc. He previously served as partner and vice president of Programming Concepts Inc. and as a general manager for Granada Food Corp., both in Texas. Deary, a Republican, earned a bachelor's degree in education, mathematics and science and a master's degree in educational psychology, both from Michigan State University. He replaces Barry Goodman.


Appointees will serve six-year terms that expire April 12, 2019, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.