Skip to main content

Governor makes appointments to Board of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Vicki Anton-Athens, of Grosse Isle, and Cyrus Farrehi, of Grand Blanc, to the Michigan Board of Podiatric Medicine and Surgery.

The nine-member board assists the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs with overseeing the practice of more than 840 Michigan podiatrists.

"Vicki and Cyrus are great choices for this board," said Snyder. "I appreciate their willingness to serve and I am confident they will do good work on behalf of the Great Lakes State in these roles."  

Athens is president of the Brownstown-based Athens Podiatry Group, and brings more than 30 years of experience in the practice of podiatric medicine and surgery. She is a member of the Michigan Podiatric Medical Association, American Podiatric Medical Association, American College of Foot Surgeons and American Association of Women Podiatrists, and has participated in more than 10 medical mission trips to Central America. Athens earned a bachelor's degree in biology and psychology from Lake Forest College and a doctorate degree in podiatric medicine from Rosalind Franklin University of Medicine and Science, both in Illinois. She will represent professionals and fills the vacancy created by the death of Howard Lazar.

Farrehi is a member of the University of Michigan Cardiovascular Center's national advisory board and Community Foundation of Greater Flint's Tuuri Health Fund committee. He previously served as chief of staff for McLaren Regional Medical Center and as founding director of McLaren's Cardiovascular Diagnostic Services. Farrehi also is a former board member and president of the Genesee County Medical Society. He holds a medical degree from the University of Tehran in Iran and completed a cardiology fellowship at the University of Oregon. Farrehi will represent public members and fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Shane Drozdowski.

Athens will serve the remainder of a four-year term that expires June 30, 2013 and Farrehi will serve the remainder of a four-year term that expires June 30, 2015. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.