Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments to Statewide Independent Living Council

Wednesday, May 8, 2013

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Dominic Dennis, of Marquette, and Michael Hamm, of White Cloud, to the Michigan Statewide Independent Living Council.

The 15-member council ensures statewide representation of citizens with disabilities.


"I appreciate Dominic and Michael's willingness to serve in these roles," said Snyder. "They bring diverse and valuable experiences to the council and I am confident they will do great work."


Dennis served 14 years as owner of a Sears authorized retail dealer in Houghton, where he oversaw hiring and training and daily store operations. He previously served as an assistant and store manager for Thrifty/Payless Drugs at locations in Nevada, Arizona and California. Dennis is a board member for the Superior Alliance for Independent Living in Marquette. He attended the Hadley School for the Blind in Illinois and Wright State University in Ohio, and received an associate degree in accounting from Sinclair Community College. Dennis will represent individuals with disabilities and fills a vacancy created by the resignation of Catherine Rector.


Hamm brings more than 20 years of clinical experience with mental health and juvenile courts.  He is a self-employed consultant in White Cloud, and previously served as an adult services supervisor, youth services supervisor, case manager and therapist for Newaygo County Mental Health. Hamm is a member of the Disability Connection of Muskegon board of directors and chair of Ferris State University's Social Work Advisory Board. He holds a bachelor's degree from Michigan State University, a bachelor's degree in behavioral sciences and a master's degree in social work, both from Grand Valley State University. Hamm will represent individuals with disabilities and fills a vacancy created by the resignation of Ronald Bower.


Appointees will serve the remainder of three-year terms that expire Dec. 31, 2013, and their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.