Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointment, reappointments to Women's Commission

Thursday, July 18, 2013

LANSING, Mich. - Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Mary Whiteford, of South Haven, and the reappointments of Jayashree Kommareddi, of Grand Blanc, and Dr. Joanne Dawley, of Northville, to the Michigan Women's Commission.

The 15-member board works to improve the quality of life for Michigan women, including providing support for female veterans, fighting human trafficking and assisting women business owners.

"I am confident these talented women will make outstanding contributions to the commission," Snyder said.

Whiteford is the co-owner of Whiteford Wealth Management, Inc. She previously served in multiple roles in the health care industry. Whiteford is active in her community, serving as treasurer of her neighborhood community association and was appointed to South Haven's Downtown Development Authority. Whiteford holds a bachelor's degree in nursing from Northern Illinois University. She replaces Sally Joseph.

Kommareddi is the office manager for Prasad Kommareddi, MD. She previously held leadership positions with the Genesee County Medical Society Alliance, Michigan State Medical Society and the American Democracy Project at the University of Michigan-Flint. She currently serves on the boards of the Mott Children's Health Center in Flint and at Genesee County's Free Medical Clinic. She also chairs the initiative on child sex trafficking for the Michigan Women's Commission. Kommareddi holds both a bachelor's and master's degree from Delhi University in India.

Dawley owns and operates her own private dental practice. She is a member of the American Dental Association, Michigan Dental Association, Detroit District Dental Society and Wolverine Dental Society, and has held many leadership positions in each organization. Dawley holds a bachelor's degree in English from the University of Michigan and a doctor of dental surgery from the University of Michigan School of Dentistry.

Members serve three-year terms expiring July 15, 2016, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.