Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments, reappointment to State Teacher Tenure Commission

Thursday, Sept. 19, 2013

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Nancy Danhof, of East Lansing; Patrick McKennon, of East Lansing; and the reappointment of David Campbell, of Kalamazoo, to the State Teacher Tenure Commission.

The commission acts as a board of review for all teacher tenure cases appealed from the decision of a controlling board.

“I am confident this group of appointees will help to ensure Michigan's students are provided the best educators by fairly and efficiently analyzing and evaluating appealed cases of teacher tenure,” Snyder said.

Danhof is the executive director of the Todd Martin Development Fund. She previously served as director of the Michigan Foundation for Education Leadership, as a private education consultant, and on the State Board of Education. Danhof holds a bachelor’s degree in social science and secondary education from Michigan State University. She will represent the general public and replaces Rich Homberg.

McKennon is a seventh-and eighth-grade social studies teacher for East Lansing Public Schools. He serves on numerous teams in the district, including the school improvement team and co-teaching team. McKennon holds a bachelor’s degree in history from Hillsdale College and master’s degree in teaching from Oakland University. He will represent classroom instructors and replaces Dirk Zuschlag.

Campbell is superintendent of the Kalamazoo Regional Service Agency. He previously served as superintendent for the Livingston County Educational Service Agency, and superintendent for Olivet Community Schools. Campbell was Michigan’s 2010 State Superintendent of the Year and has more than 20 years of experience as a school administrator, having also served as a teacher, assistant principal and principal. He holds a bachelor’s degree in education from the University of Wisconsin at Whitewater, a master’s degree in educational administration from Illinois State University, and took post-masters graduate courses in educational leadership and administration at Western Michigan University. He will continue to represent superintendents of schools.

Members serve five-year terms expiring Aug. 31, 2018, and their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.