Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments, reappointments to the Michigan Bean Commission

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Terry Schindler, of Kawkawlin, and Brian Stratton, of Edmore, and the reappointments of John Densmore, of Ithaca, and Ross Voelker, of Pigeon, to the Michigan Bean Commission.

The nine-member commission oversees research and promotes the bean industry in Michigan.

“These experienced appointees will be valuable assets to the commission as it continues to promote Michigan’s bean industry,” Snyder said.


Schindler is the owner of Schindler Farms LLC, where he has 35 years of experience growing beans, sugar beets, corn, soybeans, and wheat with his father and son. Schindler currently serves on the Michigan Farm Bureau Bean and Beet Advisory Board. He will represent District 1 and replaces John Frank.

Stratton is the owner of Stratton Farm, a third generation family farm. The farm grows dry beans, corn, and wheat. Stratton also has experience in dairy operation, custom harvesting, and as a seed dealer. He previously served on the Montcalm County Farm Bureau board of directors and currently serves as Ferris Township supervisor. Stratton has an Agriculture Technology degree from Michigan State University. He will represent District 7 and replaces Frances Arbogast-Carlson.


Densmore is the owner/operator of Densmore Farms where he grows corn, soybeans, wheat and dry beans. He has farmed since 1962 and has extensive experience in the production and marketing of Michigan dry beans. He has also sold insurance and worked in the electrical field. He will continue to represent District 2.

Voelker is the owner/president of Greenfield Farm Inc., a position he has held for more than 30 years. He previously served as a corporate accountant and assistant controller for Universal Forest Products Inc. Voelker has also served with the Farm Bureau, the Michigan Edible Bean Cooperative, and Innovative Farmer of Michigan. Voelker holds a bachelor’s of business administration with an emphasis on finance from Michigan State University. He will continue to represent District 6.

Members will serve three-year terms expiring Dec. 31, 2016, and their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the state Senate.