Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointments to MEDC Executive Committee

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointments of Cindy Larsen, of North Muskegon, and Tom Moran, of Onaway, to the Michigan Economic Development Corp. Executive Committee. 

The 20-member council sets the strategic direction of the MEDC, the state's lead agency for economic development. 

“The MEDC is doing great work to foster economic development and create a better business climate, and I am pleased that Tom and Cindy are joining that effort,” Snyder said. 

Larsen is president of the Muskegon Lakeshore Chamber of Commerce. She is responsible for providing members with an environment for business success through community leadership and promotion, inclusive business advocacy and valued member services. She was awarded the 2009 Chamber Professional of the Year and the 2012 ACCE Silver Award for Electronic Communications – Website. Larsen also assisted community leaders to revitalize downtown Muskegon by spearheading the development of a new facility for the chamber, a new Farmers Market, and new locations for business and cultural and organizations. Larsen holds a bachelor’s degree from Central Michigan University, and replaces John Rakolta Jr., who resigned. 

Moran is the founder and CEO of Moran Iron Works, a company that specializes in large modular metal fabrication for the power industry and employs more than 125 people at four locations in Onaway, Cheboygan and Rogers City. Moran Iron Works was named one of Michigan's 50 Top Companies to Watch by the Lowe Foundation in 2012. Moran was recently awarded Business Champion of the Year in 2013 from the Great Start Coalition, Business of the Year 2013 from the Cheboygan and Onaway Chambers of Commerce, Economic Development Project of the Year from Northern Lakes Economic Alliance and recognized as a Patriotic Employer from the Office of the Secretary of Defense. He currently serves on the board of directors of McLaren Northern Michigan Hospital. Moran replaces Steve D’Arcy, who resigned. 

Larsen and Moran will serve the remainder of eight-year terms expiring April 5, 2016, and their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.