Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointment, reappointments to Board of Dentistry

Tuesday, June 17, 2014

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Kelly Molloy, of Oakland Township, and the reappointments of Diane Hines, of Detroit, and Deborah Priestap, of Milford, to the Michigan Board of Dentistry.

The 19-member board assists the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs in overseeing and regulating the practice of more than 7,800 dentists, 10,100 dental hygienists and 1,400 dental assistants.

"These individuals bring decades of experience to this board," said Snyder. "I am confident they will do good work to ensure the best quality of oral health services for all Michiganders."

Molloy is the director of dental assisting for Baker College of Auburn Hills. She previously served as an instructor and adviser in the dental assistant program at Mott Community College and an assistant in private practice. Molloy earned an associate degree in dental assisting from Mott Community College, a bachelor’s degree in science education from Ferris State University, and a master’s degree in career and technical education from Ferris State University. She will represent dental assistants and will replace Julie Bera.

Hines has practiced dentistry for more than 25 years and is the owner of Aesthetic Dental Clinique. She serves as a dental examiner for the North East Regional Board of Examiners. Hines earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology from the University of Michigan and a doctorate in dental surgery from the University of Michigan. She will continue to represent dentists.

Priestap is an orthodontist with Kensington Orthodontic Specialists, and an adjunct professor of dentistry in graduate orthodontics at both the University of Michigan and the University of Detroit Mercy. She has more than 25 years of experience in private practice. She serves as an examiner and consultant on the American Board of Orthodontics. Priestap earned a bachelor’s degree in zoology from the University of Michigan, a doctorate in dental surgery from Ohio State University, and a master’s degree in orthodontics from the University of Detroit. She will continue to represent dentists with a health profession specialty certification and who are dental school faculty.

Members serve four-year terms expiring June 30, 2018. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.