Skip to main content

Snyder makes reappointments to Electrical Administrative Board

Thursday, July 17, 2014

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the reappointments of Thomas Erdman, of Vassar, Corey Hannahs, of Ann Arbor, and Ernest Harju, of Champion, and to the Electrical Administrative Board.

The board is responsible for licensing and certifying qualified applicants and developing rules and regulations necessary for enforcing safe electrical practices.

"The appointees bring valuable knowledge and skill to the board as it continues to oversee the regulation of the electrical construction industry in Michigan," Snyder said.

Erdman is owner of Nuechterlein Electric, in Frankenmuth and has more than 40 years of experience in the electrical industry. Erdman is a member of the Frankenmuth Downtown Development Authority board of directors and is a former member of the Michigan State Fire Safety Board. He currently serves as chair of the Electrical Administrative Board. Erdman earned a degree in electrical technology from Michigan State University. He will continue to represent electrical parts distributors.

Hannahs is president and owner of Hannahs Electric Co., in Ann Arbor. He worked as vice president of Integrity Electric, in Lansing and with the Associated Builders and Contractors as an electrical apprenticeship instructor and director of education. He completed his electrical apprenticeship at Lansing Community College. He will continue to represent master electricians serving as a supervisor.

Harju has over 50 years of experience in the electrical construction industry and held master electrician licenses in several states. He is semi-retired, consulting for several electrical engineering firms. Previously, he served as a backup electrical inspector for Dickinson and Iron counties and as a plan reviewer for Houghton County. He is a veteran of the Michigan Army National Guard. Harju is a member of the International Association of Electrical Inspectors and the Upper Peninsula Builders Association. He will continue to represent electrical journeymen.

Members serve four-year terms expiring Aug. 10, 2018. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.