Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointment, reappointment to State Employees' Retirement System board

Friday, Aug. 22, 2014

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Vernon Johnson, of Lansing, and the reappointment of Ruth Schwartz, of Holt, to the State Employees’ Retirement System board.

The nine-member board, housed within the Office of Retirement Services, oversees the State Employees’ Retirement System defined benefit plan. In addition to the governor's four appointed members, the state insurance commissioner, attorney general, state treasurer, deputy legislative auditor general, and the state personnel director also serve on the board.

"Ruth and Vernon are experienced professionals and I am confident they will effectively oversee retirement matters for state of Michigan employees," said Snyder.

Johnson retired from the Department of Treasury where he was an administrator in the Trust Accounting Division for more than 30 years. He serves on the board of trustees for the Capital Area District Libraries, the Old Newsboy Association, American Youth Soccer Association, Diocese of Lansing Finance Council, and the Lansing Catholic Central High School Finance Committee. Johnson earned a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree from Michigan State University. He will serve the remainder of a three-year term expiring July 31, 2016, and represent retiree members of the retirement system. Johnson fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Ronald Jones.

Schwartz is director of payroll and tax reporting for the Michigan Department of Technology, Management and Budget. She serves as Project Director for Project SIGMA, the new initiative focused on the replacement of the State of Michigan’s enterprise-wide financial system. She worked as a manager and senior manager with Andrews Hooper & Pavlik, auditor with the Office of the Auditor General, and in various positions with the Michigan departments of Technology, Management and Budget; Environmental Quality and Treasury. Schwartz is a certified public accountant. She earned a bachelor's degree from Davenport University. She will serve a three-year term expiring July 31, 2017, and continue to represent employees.

Appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.