Skip to main content

Snyder makes appointment, reappointments to Iron Industry Museum Advisory Board

Monday, December 22, 2014

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment of Bill Nordeen, of Gwinn, and the reappointments of Dale Hemmila, of Ishpeming, and Larry Lankton, of Houghton, to the Iron Industry Museum Advisory Board.

Housed within the Michigan Department of Natural Resources, the nine-member board advises the department on policies, plans and programs concerning the Negaunee Township-based Michigan Iron Industry Museum. It supports education programs and public use of the facility.

"I am confident these appointees will do good work on behalf of the museum and the state," said Snyder.

Nordeen is a member with O’Dea, Nordeen and Burnick P.C. He was elected to the Marquette County Board of Commissioners. Nordeen earned a bachelor’s degree in electrical engineering from Michigan Technological University and a degree from Thomas M. Cooley Law School. He represents the Marquette County Board of Commissioners and replaces Gerald Corkin.

Hemmila is director of public affairs for Cliffs Natural Resources, where he has worked for nearly 25 years. He has experience with WLUC-TV6 News in Marquette. Hemmila earned a bachelor’s degree in speech and communications from Northern Michigan University. He continues to represent the general public.

Lankton was a history professor at Michigan Technological University. He also worked as a historian for the National Park Service's Historic American Engineering Record and as a curator for The Henry Ford Museum's Greenfield Village. Lankton is former chair of Michigan Technological University's Department of Social Sciences and former president of the department's Society for Industrial Archaeology. He earned a bachelor's degree in history and English from DePauw University in Indiana and a master's degree and Ph.D. in American civilization from the University of Pennsylvania. He continues to represent the general public.

Appointees will serve four-year terms expiring Oct. 4, 2018. Their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.