Skip to main content

Gov. Rick Snyder makes reappointments to Commission of Agriculture and Rural Development

Thursday, Feb. 19, 2015

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the reappointments of Diane Hanson, of Cornell, and Bob Kennedy, of St. Charles, to the Commission of Agriculture and Rural Development.

The five-member bipartisan board works with the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development and has the responsibility to recommend, and in some cases determine, policy on food, agriculture and rural development issues. No more than three members may be from the same political party.

"Bob and Diane have been excellent members of the commission," Snyder said. "I am confident they will continue to effectively serve in these roles."

Hanson is a third generation owner and operator of Hanson Seed Farm. Hanson was appointed to the U.S. Potato Board, serves on the FSA committee and the Hiawathaland Farm Bureau where she was previously director and past-president. Hanson is also a member of the Upper Peninsula Potato Growers, the Michigan Potato Industry, and the Potato Growers of Michigan. She continues to represent Independents.

Kennedy is the Area Manager for The Andersons/The Auburn Group (formerly Auburn Bean and Grain). He is past board member and chair of the Michigan Agri-business Association and has been in the agri-business industry for more than 28 years. He continues to represent Republicans.

Appointees will serve four-year terms expiring Dec. 31, 2018. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.