Skip to main content

Gov. Rick Snyder makes reappointments to Boards of Architects, Engineers, and Surveyors

Thursday, April 9, 2015

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced reappointments to the Michigan Boards of Architects, Professional Engineers and Professional Surveyors.

Created in 1980, the nine-member board assists the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs with oversight of the practice of architecture, engineering and surveying.

"These appointees have all done good work to support the land and construction industry in Michigan. I appreciate their continued service in these roles," said Snyder.

Ronald Brand, of Gaylord, continues to serve on the Board of Professional Surveyors. Brand is a surveyor with Brand Land Surveying LLC. He previously worked with Mitchell and Associates as a professional surveyor. Brand also has experience as a field survey technician. He earned a bachelor’s degree from the University of Michigan, and an additional bachelor’s degree in surveying and engineering from Ferris State University. He has completed the Certified Federal Surveyor program and continues to represent professional surveyors.

Troy Naperala, of Traverse City, continues to serve on the Board of Architects and on the Board of Professional Engineers. Naperala works for AECOM, an architectural consulting firm. He has previous experience as a project manager and senior project engineer for URS Corporation. He earned a bachelor's degree from Michigan Technological University, and a master's degree in civil engineering from the University of Virginia. He continues to represent professional engineers.

Ken Van Tine, of Farmington Hills, continues to serve on the Board of Architects and the Board of Professional Surveyors. Van Tine is an architect with inFORM Studio PC. His work as an architect includes the Traverwood Branch of the Ann Arbor District Library and several buildings commissioned by the Detroit Public Schools. He earned a bachelor's degree in architecture from Lawrence Technological University and continues to represent architects.

Appointees will serve four-year terms expiring March 31, 2019. Their appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.