Skip to main content

Gov. Rick Snyder makes appointment, reappointment to Education Achievement Authority Executive Committee

Friday, October 2, 2015

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Rick Snyder today announced the appointment Shirley Stancato, of Detroit, and the reappointment of Mike Morris, of Northville, to the Education Achievement Authority Executive Committee.

The board oversees the Education Achievement Authority, which was created by an inter-local agreement in 2011 to operate 15 of the state’s lowest performing schools. The 11-member board of directors includes appointees of the governor, Detroit Public Schools and Eastern Michigan University. Five members of the board make up the Executive Committee.

“Shirley and Mike have been assets to the EAA as they continue the critical goal of providing students with an education that can best prepare them to succeed after high school, either in the workforce or through a college education,” Snyder said.

Stancato is CEO at New Detroit, Inc. and previously served as senior vice president at Chase Bank. She serves as a board member of the Coleman A. Young Foundation, Excellent Schools Detroit, Fifth Third Bank – Eastern Michigan, DTE Energy Community Advisory Council, Wayne State University President’s Community Advisory Group, the University of Michigan – Dearborn Citizens Advisory Committee, and the Detroit Zoo Board of Directors. Stancato earned both a bachelor’s degree and master’s degree from Wayne State University. She fills the vacancy created by the resignation of Roy Roberts.

Morris recently retired as chairman and chief executive officer of American Electric Power. He serves on the U.S. Department of Energy's Electricity Advisory Board, the National Governors Association's Task Force on Electricity Infrastructure, and Business Roundtable. Morris also served as a director of the boards of Alcoa, Battelle and the Hartford Financial Services Group, Inc. He earned both a bachelor's and master's degree in biology from Eastern Michigan University.

Stancato will serve the remainder of a four-year term expiring August 8, 2017. Morris serves a four-year term expiring August 8, 2019. Their appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.