Skip to main content

Workers' Compensation

Workers' Compensation (WC) is a benefit that will pay for reasonable and necessary medical care if you have experienced a work-related illness or injury.

When an injury/illness occurs:

Workers' Compensation Summary

Workers' Compensation icon
Workers' Compensation Apply Online button

  • The State of Michigan has the right to choose who will provide your medical treatment for the first 28 days following the initial treatment of the injury or illness. If you are not seen at an Occupational Health Care Clinic, the State is not required to pay for any medical bills from other providers during this time. After 28 days, you have the right to choose any treating provider qualified to treat your injury or illness.

    Once the DMO has received your Workers' Compensation claim, they will file a claim with Sedgwick, our third-party administrator.

    • Sedgwick will send paperwork to your home. You must complete and return the paperwork to Sedgwick for your claim to be processed.
    • Sedgwick will investigate and determine if your injury or illness qualifies under Workers' Compensation guidelines.

     

  • Once an injury/illness is determined to be work-related, compensation will be established as follows:

    • If your work-related injury or illness causes you to be off work less than 7 calendar days, WC benefits will cover medical epenses only. Wages will not be covered for the first 7 days.
      • You will need to use sick and/or annual leave credits to cover your time off work 
    • If your work-related injury or illness causes you to be off work more than 7 calendar days but less than 15, WC benefits will cover your medical expenses and two-thirds of your average weekly wages starting on the eight consecutive day off work
      • You will need to use your sick and/or annual leave credits to cover the first 7 days off work
      • Your WC benefits will begin on your eighth calendar day 
    • If your work-related injury or illness causes you to be off work more than 14 calendar days, WC benefits will cover your medical expenses and two-thirds of your average weekly wage, and will retroactively compensate you beginning with your first day off work
      • Any sick and annual leave credits that you have used will be reimbursed to you

  • Some State of Michigan positions are covered under various assault statutes. If your injury was the result of an assault while performing employment duties, you may receive:

    • WC benefits may pay up to 100% of your standard net pay
    • Administrative leave may cover your first 14 days off work


    Workers' Compensation Summary (Assault)

    If you are not sure if you are covered under this provision, contact the DMO at 877-766-6447, option 2.

  • Prior to returning to work:

    • A physician's statement permitting your return, with or without restrictions, must be submitted to the DMO 
    • The DMO and your agency will evaluate if the essential job functions are compatible with any work restrictions. 
    • Restrictions must be approved before returning to work.

  • For further information on Workers' Compensation, see the Workers' Compensation FAQs.