Citizen's Advisory Workgroup


The creation of the Citizen's Advisory Workgroup builds on Governor Gretchen Whitmer's Executive Order 2019-03 (EO), which formalized MPART's mission within the Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) and directed the agency to increase citizen engagement, transparency, and accountability in the ongoing state efforts to identify PFAS contamination and protect public health.

"In February I signed an executive order establishing MPART as an enduring body that would address the threat of PFAS with the goal of continuing to protect public health and ensure the safety of Michigan's land, air and water," Whitmer said. "Michiganders must be a part of the conversation when it comes to combating PFAS. I'm looking forward to seeing the joint work towards real solutions between MPART and the public. All state government processes should be accessible and transparent, especially when it comes to public health and the environment."

In addition to representing the concerns of communities negatively impacted by PFAS and keeping the public informed, the Citizen's Advisory Workgroup also will provide input and advice to MPART as it continues its mission of identify and mitigating PFAS contamination and protecting the public from exposure risks.

"A critical element of protecting public health is keeping the public informed," said MPART executive director Steve Sliver. "We look forward to hearing from members of the public who want to help their fellow Michiganders stay informed, educated and empowered in our state's ongoing response to PFAS contamination in their communities."

Meeting Materials | CAWG Calendar | Members | Charter | Membership Registration | Assistance

Meeting Date, Resource Type

Meeting Materials

July 13, 2021 Presentation
July 13, 2021 Agenda

June 8, 2021 Meeting Recording - video, 2 hours 4 minutes

June 8, 2021 Presentation

June 8, 2021 Agenda

May 11, 2021 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour, 43 minutes

May 11, 2021 Presentation

May 11, 2021 Agenda

April 13, 2021 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour, 59 minutes

April 13, 2021 Presentation

April 13, 2021 Agenda

March 9, 2021 Presentation

March 9, 2021 Agenda 

March 9, 2021 Meeting Recording - video, 2 hours, 13 minutes

February 9, 2021 Presentation

February 9, 2021 Agenda

January 12, 2021 Presentation

January 12, 2021 Agenda

January 12, 2021 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour, 47 minutes

December 8, 2020 Presentation and Agenda

December 8, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour, 34 minutes

November 10, 2020 Presentation and Agenda

November 10, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour, 35 minutes

October 13, 2020 Presentation and Agenda

October 13, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour, 33 minutes

September 8, 2020 Presentation and Agenda

September 8, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour, 14 minutes

July 14, 2020 Presentation and Agenda

July 14, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 55 minutes

June 9, 2020 Summary

June 9, 2020 Presentation and Agenda 

June 9, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 44 minutes

May 12, 2020 Summary

May 12, 2020 Presentation and Agenda 

May 12, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 34 minutes

April 14, 2020 Summary

April 14, 2020 Presentation and Agenda 

April 14, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 34 minutes

March 10, 2020 Summary

March 10, 2020 Presentation and Agenda 

March 10, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 33 minutes

February 11, 2020 Summary

February 11, 2020 Presentation and Agenda 

February 11, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 34 minutes

January 21, 2020 Summary

January 21, 2020 Presentation and Agenda 

January 21, 2020 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 37 minutes

December 17, 2019 Summary

December 17, 2019 Presentation and Agenda  (updated to correct Oscoda County to Oscoda Township, Iosco County)

December 17, 2019 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 38 minutes

November 13, 2019 Summary - Updated 12/17/2019 

November 13, 2019 Presentatio and Agenda 

November 13, 2019 Meeting Recording - video, 1 hour 37 minutes

MPART Website Redesign Walkthrough - video, 16 minutes

Meeting Calendar


List of Members as of March 1, 2021 (by county)

Allegan Otsego Gale Dugan
Allegan Otsego Pam McQueer
Bay Bay City Laura Ogar
Eaton Charlotte Robert Delaney
Eaton Lansing Bradley Venman
Grand Traverse Traverse City Charlie Schlinger
Ingham East Lansing Lea Dyga
Ingham Williamston Kate Gislason
Iosco Oscoda Aaron Weed
Kent Ada A. J. Birkbeck
Kent Belmont Jennifer Carney
Kent Belmont Sandy Wynn-Stelt
Kent Comstock Park Renae Mata
Kent Grand Rapids Patti Baldwin
Kent Rockford Kenneth Harvey
Kent Rockford Lynn McIntosh
Livingston Brighton Elizabeth Hauptman
Livingston Brighton Robert Potocki
Macomb Shelby Township David Winn
Menominee Menominee Daniel Burlingame
Montcalm Pierson Daniel Buyze
Muskegon Muskegon Matthew Farrar
Oakland Holly Mary Blanchard
Oakland Holly Stacy Taylor
Oakland Milford Christina Schroeder
Oakland Troy Tony Spaniola
Ottawa Grand Haven Jeffery Dutton
Ottawa Allendale Rick Rediske
Saginaw Carrollton Township Shellene Thurston
Washtenaw Ann Arbor Daniel Brown
Washtenaw Ann Arbor Joh Kang
Washtenaw Whitemore Lake William Creal
Wayne Dearborn David Norwood
Wayne Detroit Theresa Landrum
Wayne Grossee Pointe Farms Connie Boris
Wayne Wyandotte Justin Ptak
Wexford Cadillac William Barnett

Download the list of members.


The workgroup's draft charter was developed with input from three focus group sessions held with members of the public directly impacted by PFAS contamination in their communities. The draft charter was approved by MPART on September 27, 2019. View the Citizen's Advisory Workgroup Charter.

Membership Registration Form

You must read and understand the workgroup charter before filling out a registration form to be considered for MPART Citizen's Advisory Workgroup membership. Do not fill in the form in your internet browser -- save the document to your computer first, then fill in the form. 

MPART has made the form available in three formats for your convenience:

Email to Kelly Ploehn at

Or, mail to:

Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE)
Attn: Kelly Ploehn, MPART
Constitution Hall
525 West Allegan Street
P.O. Box 30473
Lansing, MI 48909-7973


If you require assistance in filling out this form, or if you have any questions, the State of Michigan Environmental Assistance Center can be contacted at 800-662-9278 between 8:00 AM and 4:30 PM Monday through Friday or email anytime to