Skip to main content

Gov. Whitmer Designates Emergency Interim Successors

January 25, 2019 

Gov. Whitmer Designates Emergency Interim Successors

Gov. Gretchen Whitmer today announced the following appointments to succeed her in the event of a disaster under the Emergency Interim Succession Act. LANSING, Mich. –

Emergency Succession Designation 

If none of the duly-elected successors are available to perform the duties of governor, the responsibilities fall to an emergency interim successor until a new governor is elected.

According to the Michigan Constitution, the line of succession is as follows: lieutenant governor, the elected secretary of state, the elected attorney general, the president pro tempore of the senate and speaker of the house of representatives.

  1. State Treasurer Rachel Eubanks of Lansing.
  2. Former Lt. Governor John D. Cherry of Clio.
  3. Wayne County Executive Warren C. Evans of Detroit.
  4. Businessman Gary Torgow of Detroit.
  5. United States Senator Debbie Stabenow of East Lansing.

To view additional appointments, visit