Skip to main content

Gov. Whitmer Appoints Judge Cylenthia LaToye Miller to the 3rd Circuit Court

July 24, 2019   

Gov. Whitmer Appoints Judge Cylenthia LaToye Miller to the 3rd Circuit Court

LANSING, Mich. – Gov. Gretchen Whitmer today appointed Judge Cylenthia LaToye Miller to the 3rd Circuit Court in Wayne County. 

Cylenthia is well-known for her extensive legal experience and for serving her community,” Whitmer said. “I expect that Cylenthia will perform her responsibilities with honor and reverence for all." 

Honorable Cylenthia LaToye Miller is a judge with the 36th District Court in Detroit, where she hears cases on all of the court’s dockets as the Court’s Auxiliary Judge. Judge Miller is also the founding and presiding judge over Street Outreach Court Detroit, a specialty court program, which provides homeless citizens the opportunity to resolve certain civil infractions and misdemeanorsLast year, Gov. Rick Snyder appointed Miller to the Michigan Interagency Council on Homelessness. 

Before her judgeship, she served as the director of the Detroit Workforce Development Department, and as an associate attorney with Lewis & Munday, P.C. and Dykema law firm in Detroit. She has been the recipient of numerous awards including the Outstanding Judicial Leadership Award from Neighborhood Legal Services and a Certificate of Congressional Recognition from U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow. 

Judge Miller is an adjunct professor of criminal justice and humanities at Baker College of Allen Park and Baker College of Jackson, and is a Golden Heritage Life member of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). Miller earned her Bachelor of Arts in Sociology from Wayne State University and Juris Doctor degree from the Michigan State University College of Law.  

This appointment was made to fill a partial term, which expires at noon on January 1, 2021, after Judge Daniel Hathaway stepped down. If Judge Miller wishes to seek a full six-year term, she would be required to run for reelection in November of 2020. 

This appointment is not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.