Skip to main content

Governor Whitmer Makes Appointments, Reappointments


March 5, 2020 


Governor Whitmer Makes Appointments, Reappointments 


LANSING, Mich. – Governor Gretchen Whitmer today announced the following appointment and reappointments to the State Tax Commission, Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency Director, and MEDC Executive Committee: 


State Tax Commission 


Peggy L. Nolde, a Democrat of Grand Blanc, is the former equalization director for Genesee County. She has also served as the deputy assessor for the Charter Township of Grand Blanc, as an appraiser for the City of Flint, and as an assessor for the Charter Township of Mundy and the City of Fenton. Mrs. Nolde is a certified assessment evaluator, Michigan master assessing officer, and a Michigan certified personal property examiner. She is a member of the International Association of Assessing Officers and is the past president of the Southeast Chapter of the Michigan Assessors Association and the Tri-County Assessors Association.  


Mrs. Nolde is appointed for a term commencing March 9, 2020 and expiring December 27, 2022. She succeeds Nick Khouri who has resigned. The Governor has designated Mrs. Nolde to serve as the Chairperson of the Commission.  


The State Tax Commission (STC) has general supervision of the administration of the Property Tax Laws in Michigan and shall render such assistance and give such advice to assessors, as they deem necessary. The Commission is responsible for the education and certification of assessing officers and for assessing certain state-assessed properties such as telephone companies and railroads. 


This appointment is subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.  


Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency Director  


Jack A. Nolish began his career in the workers’ compensation field as an attorney, eventually becoming a partner in his firm specializing in representing injured and disabled individuals in workers’ compensation, Social Security disability, and employee rights claims. In 2004, Mr. Nolish was appointed to the Workers’ Compensation Board of Magistrates and served as the chair of the board. He was named director of the Michigan Workers’ Compensation Agency in 2005 and served in that position until 2010 when he was name deputy director. Mr. Nolish most recently worked as an economic opportunity coach with AmeriCorps.  


Mr. Nolish holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science from Oakland University and earned his Juris Doctor from Wayne State University Law School. He lives in East Lansing with his wife Judy. Mr. Nolish is appointed for a term commencing March 22, 2020 and expiring March 21, 2023. 


The Workers’ Disability Compensation Agency is housed in the Department of Labor Economic Opportunity, transferred from the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs by Executive Order No. 2019-13The mission of the Workers' Disability Compensation Agency is to efficiently administer the Workers’ Disability Compensation Act, which provides compensation to workers who suffer an injury on the job and protects employers' liability. 


This appointment is subject to the advice and consent of the Senate. 


MEDC Executive Committee 


April Clobes, of Bath, is the president and CEO of Michigan State University Federal Credit Union. She holds a Master of Business Administration from Western Michigan University and a Master of Arts in Advertising from Michigan State University. Ms. Clobes is reappointed to represent the private sector for a term commencing April 6, 2020 and expiring April 5, 2024. 


Bobby J. Hopewell, of Kalamazoo, is the president and CEO of Mobile Health Resources, Inc. He holds a Master of Arts in Organizational Learning and Performance from Western Michigan University. Mr. Hopewell is reappointed to represent the private sector for a term commencing April 6, 2020 and expiring April 5, 2024. 


Fay Beydoun, of Dearborn, is the executive director of the American Arab Chamber of Commerce, chief operating officer of Tejara & the Tejara Global Business Development Center, and chairwoman of the East Michigan District Export Council. Ms. Beydoun is reappointed to represent the private sector for a term commencing April 6, 2020 and expiring April 5, 2024. 


Philip W. Shaltz, of Flint, is the president and CEO of Shaltz Automation, the managing partner of Value Point Management, and co-managing partner of Uptown Developments. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Michigan State University. Mr. Shaltz is reappointed to represent the private sector for a term commencing April 6, 2020 and expiring April 5, 2024. 


David E. Meador, of Troy, is the vice chairman and chief administrative office of DTE Energy. He holds a Master of Business Administration from Wayne State University. Mr. Meador is reappointed to represent the private sector for a term commencing April 6, 2020 and expiring April 5, 2024. 


Sheldon A. Neeley, of Flint, is the mayor of the City of Flint. He previously served as the State Representative for the 34th House District and as a member of the Flint City Council. Mayor Neeley is appointed to represent public agencies for a term commencing March 5, 2020 and expiring April 5, 2024. He succeeds Karen Weaver who has resigned. 


The MEDC Executive Committee provides policy direction and guidance to the Michigan Economic Development Corporation regarding economic development program and initiativesapproves the MEDC corporate budget, and appoints the chief executive officer who administers all programs, funds, personnel, and all other administrative transactions of the MEDC. The MEDC Executive Committee supports the MEDC through governance, support to enable results-based action, and advocacy for the organization and economic development in Michigan. 


These appointments are not subject to the advice and consent of the Senate.