Skip to main content

County Guides

Guides to County Records

In addition to the Archives’ extensive holdings of Michigan state government records, our collections also include local government records from all of Michigan's 83 counties. These county records can include tax assessments, naturalizations, probate files, poor house registers, chancery case files, occupational certifications, and more. Holdings may vary widely from county to county.

Below is a listing of Michigan county guides, detailing what records are available for each county. The records listed are available at the Archives of Michigan in Lansing or housed at our repository partners closer to the county. (Records held elsewhere are noted on the guides.)

Check back often. We update the guides as new collections arrive daily.

A-C | D-KL-N | O-W


Alcona County (PDF)

Alger County (PDF)

Allegan County (PDF)

Alpena County (PDF)

Antrim County (PDF)

Arenac County (PDF)

Baraga County (PDF)

Barry County (PDF)

Bay County (PDF)

Benzie County (PDF)

Berrien County (PDF)

Branch County (PDF)

Calhoun County (PDF)

Cass County (PDF)

Charlevoix County (PDF)

Cheboygan County (PDF)

Chippewa County (PDF)

Clare County (PDF)

Clinton County (PDF)

Crawford County (PDF)

[Back to top]


Delta County (PDF)

Dickinson County (PDF)

Eaton County (PDF)

Emmet County (PDF)

Genesee County (PDF)

Gladwin County (PDF)

Gogebic County (PDF) 

Grand Traverse County (PDF)

Gratiot County (PDF)

Hillsdale County (PDF)

Houghton County (PDF)

Huron County (PDF)

Ingham County (PDF)

Ionia County (PDF)

Iosco County (PDF)

Iron County (PDF)

Isabella County (PDF)

Jackson County (PDF)

Kalamazoo County (PDF)

Kalkaska County (PDF)

Kent County (PDF)

Keweenaw County (PDF)

[Back to top]


Lake County (PDF)

Lapeer County (PDF)

Leelanau County (PDF)

Lenawee County (PDF)

Livingston County (PDF)

Luce County (PDF)

Mackinac County (PDF)

Macomb County (PDF)

Manistee County (PDF)

Marquette County (PDF)

Mason County (PDF)

Mecosta County (PDF)

Menominee County (PDF)

Midland County (PDF)

Missaukee County (PDF)

Monroe County (PDF)

Montcalm County (PDF)

Montmorency County (PDF)

Muskegon County (PDF)

Newaygo County (PDF)

[Back to top]


Oakland County (PDF)

Oceana County (PDF)

Ogemaw County (PDF)

Ontonagon County (PDF)

Osceola County (PDF)

Oscoda County (PDF)

Otsego County (PDF)

Ottawa County (PDF)

Presque Isle County (PDF)

Roscommon County (PDF)

Saginaw County (PDF)

St. Clair County (PDF)

St. Joseph County (PDF)

Sanilac County (PDF)

Schoolcraft County (PDF)

Shiawassee County (PDF)

Tuscola County (PDF)

Van Buren County (PDF)

Washtenaw County (PDF)

Wayne County (PDF)

Wexford County (PDF)

[Back to top]