Skip to main content

Michigan Historical Commission

The Michigan Historical Commission advises the director of the Michigan Department of Natural Resources and approves Michigan Historical Markers. The governor appoints commission members to four-year terms.

Michigan Historical Commission Members

  • Laura Rose Ashlee, Okemos
  • Joseph Calvaruso, Galesburg
  • Timothy Chester, Vice President, Grand Rapids
  • Brian James Egen, President, Monroe
  • Delia M. Fernandez, Lansing
  • Eric P. Hemenway, Harbor Springs
  • Robin Terry, Rochester Hills
  • Thomas Truscott, Lansing
  • Larry J. Wagenaar, Ada
  • Sandra S. Clark, Secretary, Director, Michigan History Center

Programs and Initiatives

2023 Michigan Historical Commission Meeting Schedule and Agendas

Unless noted, all meetings are held at the Michigan Library and Historical Center in the Morris Learning Center (first floor, east wing). Meetings begin at 10 a.m. and are open to the public; agendas will be posted here in PDF format as they become available. The Michigan Library and Historical Center is located at 702 West Kalamazoo Street, Lansing. The building and visitor parking are on the north side of Kalamazoo Street, two blocks east of M. L. King Jr. Boulevard.

For Zoom access to these meetings, please contact Michelle Davis.

Commission Documents

Updated 2/13/2023

Meeting minutes

For minutes of meetings held before 2020, please send an email request to